Cake and Christopher Brookmyre

Tuesdays and Fridays are our random but brilliant days off, into which we must squish all the things we want to do (as well as ‘homework’ and boring chore-type stuff like paying bills and changing the bed).

Last Tuesday, we had to buy everything necessary for Clare’s birthday party, and I had to very subtly go off for half an hour to buy the last bit of her present (‘The Universe Versus Alex Woods’ by Gavin Extence). We also met up with the uni girls for what should have been our first craft session but turned into a bit of a natter. We went to Loopy Lorna’s, a place we’d passed on the bus many times and said, ‘We need to go there one day!’

It was lovely and surprisingly big for an Edinburgh café since it’s situated in a theatre. It was full of mums and kids, which created a nice family atmosphere (although perhaps not if the children were screaming). Maybe that’ll be us in ten years!

Victoria sponge

The biggest bit of cake I have ever been presented with in a café.

There was a big selection of teas, wasted on me since I don’t drink it. However, there was a big selection of cakes, which had me hovering around the counter for a ridiculously long time trying to choose just one. Jaffa aero slice? Strawberry and white chocolate cake? I opted for the Victoria sponge, not realising that the massive chunk left on the tray was a single slice. Finally, a café that endorses my idea of decent portions. The photo doesn’t do it justice.

In the evening, we went to the launch of Christopher Brookmyre’s Bedlam at Waterstone’s. I’ll confess to never having read one of his books before. Terrible, I know. It’s not that I haven’t heard of most of them, and the fact that they’re crime novels doesn’t bother me; I just never got around to reading them. This is a venture into sci-fi. From what I could gather, the protagonist wakes up in the worlds of different video games. Some of the references were lost on me, but the fact that he’s so funny means I’m looking forward to reading it. Got a copy of the book and got it signed, so have added it to this year’s reading list. (I’ve read a book for February already, so look out for that post soon.)

Bedlam

Signed copy of ‘Bedlam’ by Christopher Brookmyre

Today’s day off has been very work-focused, but we still have a couple of other events to update you on, so speak to you soon!

Lauren

3 thoughts on “Cake and Christopher Brookmyre

Leave a Comment

