Procrastinating

The brilliant Laura over at Hoping for Courage nominated us for the Liebster Award. Now we did get this before, but I liked the questions she set, so I’m answering them anyway! (Thank you!)

1. If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Chocolate. No contest. I basically run on it as it is, so, frankly, living without it just wouldn’t be worth it. (If I also get a sensible option, it would be carbonara.)

2. What famous person would you bring with you on a desert island for three years?

Hmm. I initially thought J. K. Rowling, because she’s a brilliant storyteller and you wouldn’t get bored. Then I realised, I’d be blooming hopeless on a desert island. Perhaps Channing Tatum or Justin Hartley would be the best options: big, strong men that look like they could fashion a bow and arrow out of a tree and hunt. (I’m sorry, I do believe in gender equality, but I was once voted a liability in a hypothetical test of this sort, so I need a protector/provider.) Besides, after three years, they might be mine. Definite upside.

3. What movie would you love to be a part of?

I remember watching the extras on the Grease DVD, and it seemed like they just had the best time making it. I wanted to be one of them! However, I actually did send away a photo and letter saying how much I wanted to be Luna in the Harry Potter movies, so I think that one has to win.

4. What quote do you live by?

Ah, you’ve got me. I love a concise, insightful, wise quotation, and there are lots of them. However, there’s one that always resonates with me, which is:

‘It’s time to start living the life you’ve imagined.’ – Henry James

I saw it on a postcard the first time I moved away from home (to France, no less) and it felt like the beginning of something. Now it reminds me to go for what I want.

5. Describe yourself in one word.

Procrastinating!

*

Yes, yes, I’m working on my dissertation. What a nice break that was, though! Here’s a quick update on things that have happened on the rare occasions when I haven’t been sitting staring at a computer screen:

Something lovely: a proposal at work. I’ve never seen a proposal in real life before and it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside for the rest of the day.

Taking myself out of my comfort zone: I looked after Charlie (successfully, thank goodness). And although these might not sound like a big deal to… well, anyone else but me, I went out without makeup on and drove my sister to the station WITHOUT WEARING MY DRIVING SHOES. Oh yes. Times they are a-changing.

Exciting things: I have a couple of new projects that I cannot wait to get started on once my dissertation is out of the way. All the more reason to go away and finish this thing once and for all!

Finally, a big thank you to you lot for sticking with us even when we can’t post as much as we would like. Virtual cake for you all. (Since sometimes, when I procrastinate, I bake. Bet you wish I was your flatmate now.)

sponge

These are not the best sponges I’ve made.

Speak to you soon!

Lauren

One thought on “Procrastinating

Leave a Comment

