Anticipation

‘Well,’ said Pooh, ‘what I like best,’ and then he had to stop and think.  Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.  – A. A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

That sanguine expectation of happiness which is happiness itself. – Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility

13. Record something that made me happy, something that was lucky or something that I’m grateful for every day.

Today I’m happy and grateful for something that hasn’t even happened yet: my trip to London.

I love having something to look forward to (and try to make sure I always do). Sometimes I think it might be wishing my life away, but it actually makes all the ordinary moments before the event that little bit better. I have been whistling at work all week (probably irritating the customers) and having bursts of excitement when I realise where I’ll be 72 hours/48 hours/24 hours later! If you’ve nothing to look forward to, normality has to be pretty amazing, and even then you would become so used to it that you might not appreciate it the same.

I have to get up at quarter to five tomorrow morning (ouch) in order to get the train to Edinburgh to get the train to London, then we’re heading for the Hard Rock Café because it is a family tradition, yet neither of us have been to the London one. My sister’s never actually been to London, so it’s going to be extra special for her.

This time tomorrow night, Wicked, aka one of the greatest things (never mind musicals) ever, will just have begun. On Friday, we’re going to the Harry Potter Studio Tour to have our very own Great Hall moment. On Friday night I get to see the tenth anniversary concert of my very favourite band, McFly. And on Saturday we’ll fit in some sightseeing before getting the train home.

The whole trip came about quite by chance. On the day the concert tickets went on sale, I was due to leave for work in ten minutes when I remembered what day it was. I saw my friend was having trouble getting tickets and I managed to buy two easily, thinking I could pass them on to her if she was unsuccessful. She ended up getting tickets after all, and I realised that, as a McFly fan since day one (possibly before the official day one!) I definitely deserved to attend the anniversary concert. So I built my trip around it, and it’s got me through the last few months!

There could be no better trip designed for me (perhaps because I designed it myself) unless you included something related to Formula 1, and we’re thinking of checking out the Rush window display at Harrod’s. It includes all of my favourite things, and I am so excited it’s finally here. The anticipation has been lovely, but this might be one of those few occasions where the reality outdoes it!

Hope you all have a brilliant week!

Lauren

4 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Pingback: The Life Checklist | Wake Up Your Luck

Leave a Comment

