The Wrong Risk

My way to take myself out of my comfort zone in October was to try online dating, and I’m aware that I didn’t update you on this yet. I didn’t think I’d have any trouble writing about it, but it didn’t quite turn out that way!

You might have noticed a sudden increase in new places visited, as I dragged my poor dates around various tourist attractions for a couple of hours. I told a couple of them about the blog and my list of goals, so it was a good way for us to come up with things to do. And it was lovely when one guy asked what kind of food I liked, and found me one of the best Italian restaurants in Edinburgh to add to my list. I only met up with three people, and they all seemed to be decent guys, but it was him that I saw a few times. Had I been told about him as a third party, I would have thought he was near perfect.

In the end, though, I realised my heart wasn’t in it. It was a few weeks before I felt too guilty and had to acknowledge it: I already knew somebody that I really liked. Who starts dating other people when they’ve met somebody great? Big cowards, that’s who. I’d tried to crush the crush, but there it was, ruining my attempts at dating!

So what did I do? I stopped seeing the guy I’d met online, as it wasn’t fair on him. And before I’d summoned the courage to really take myself out of my comfort zone, I missed my chance with the other.

Maybe I can give online dating another go in the New Year, but I’ll see how I feel. Apologies for the more serious post! It would obviously have been lovely to give a positive update on this, but in fairness I had some lovely dates!

Anyway, that’s the lesson I’ve learned over the past few weeks: try to be honest with yourself about what risk it is you should be taking.

3 thoughts on “The Wrong Risk

  1. Sherri says:

    Sorry things didn’t work out but sounds like you had fun along the way and met some nice people. You can always give it another shot when you are ready…wishing you a very Happy Christmas and New Year 🙂

Leave a Comment

