Thankful Thursday: All the Small Things

February is already better than January and it is only day six! Here are some of the little things that have made me happy this week:

forrestgump

Forrest Gump. Last night, we went round to Clare and Kathryn’s for another movie night, and I got to tick Forrest Gump off my list of movies to watch. It was absolutely amazing! I cannot believe I haven’t seen it before. Yes, it was very sad in parts, and it’s not a film you can watch over and over again, which is normally what makes me like a film. However, it reminded me of two of my very favourite books – The Hundred-Year-Old-Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, because it references many key events of the century and how the character ties in, and the type of comedy is similar; and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, where he just keeps on walking, like Forrest keeps running. I loved the narration, I loved the humour – I just loved it!

DSC00223cropped

Presents in the post. Well, not presents exactly, since I paid for them, but I had forgotten that I had ordered them. F1 and McFly – two of my favourite things!

thekiss

The Kiss. After months of walking past the signs declaring that one of the marble versions of Rodin’s The Kiss was at the Scottish National Gallery, I finally saw it – on the last day!

DSC00192cropped

The Royal Mile

Sunshine. There were a couple of days of glorious sunshine (if freezing temperatures) before the rain returned.

Good TV. Revenge, The Tomorrow People, and tonight… Nashville is back! I love the songs in this show. And Scarlett and Gunnar!

Getting better. My voice is almost entirely back to normal! I should (almost) be hitting those high notes on Monday night, when I go to see Taylor Swift!

DSC00226cropped

My nails. Thanks to my sister, again, I have perfect nails for my trip!

DSC00252cropped

Oops. Went shopping.

My London trip. I’ve been buying some new clothes, deciding what to visit, and arranging to see a friend I haven’t seen in a year and a half. The promise of the trip has even given work a sparkly sheen. Problems = fun challenges! Difficult customers = aw, poor souls must be having a bad day! Only a minute has passed on the clock = all the more time to look forward to the holiday!

Only two more days of work, then we’re off! Hope you’re all having an equally good week!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: All the Small Things

Leave a Comment

