I Spent My Savings in a Day

I love having Sundays off. There’s something extra restful about being off on a Sunday, and this one was particularly good. I was supposed to have been working today, but my friend very kindly offered to cover my shift, which I think made it even sweeter!

It started last night, really, when I got home from work to find these waiting for me:

Grey’s Anatomy is my most recent obsession, as regular readers will probably have guessed, so I watched a couple of episodes – as well as a bit of Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway and The Voice – before having an early night. I honestly don’t remember the last Saturday night I went out, but I don’t mind a bit. I’m all about Saturday nights in these days!

This morning, I had a lie-in and woke up (at eight…) thanks to the sunshine positively beaming through the window. Although I like winter, I don’t do well with dark mornings – sunny wake-up calls are so much more motivating!

I had a bacon roll for lunch, which was awesome, because if you work on Sundays you don’t get a bacon roll for lunch. I caught up with lots of blogs I follow, and wrote a couple of posts that will go up next week. When my parents went out for an hour, I treated the neighbours to a selection of Nashville’s best tunes.

Then I spent my savings in a day. You’ll know that I’ve been toying with the idea of getting away, and today I booked a Trek America tour. It was the encouragement of Clare and another friend who have been away with Trek America before that made me realise that this could be the perfect thing for me. My trek takes in Las Vegas, the Grand Canyon, New Orleans, Nashville and NYC, amongst others. It really is the trip of a lifetime, and I still can’t quite believe I’m going! I’m going to have so many new places to write about this year, not to mention fulfil my dream of going on holiday.

After that, it was time for the first Grand Prix of the new season. It turned out to be a really bizarre race, but I finally got to wear the polo shirt that my parents got me for Christmas!

My ‘my team is awesome’ face, before one car failed to finish and the other was disqualified.

Now I’m just relaxing in front of the television with mum, dad and the dog, doing absolutely nothing, and not feeling at all guilty about it!

I hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend!

Lauren x

Leave a Comment

