Letting Go of Goals

Don’t worry – I’m not about to throw out the driving factor behind this blog. However, I am going to edit a couple of the goals I set previously (a whole month later than I did last year) because they’re not working.

I am not going to post a photo or quote every week (you’ll have noticed I already stopped), because I don’t want to bore you with four emails in a week about new posts on Wake Up Your Luck. I will post them on occasion, simply because I want to – because I particularly like a quotation and want to talk about why, or because I’m going to take shedloads of photos on my trip and want you to see them.

I’m going to rethink all ‘weekly’ goals, because I just don’t have the time to consider all of these things every week. And before you click away in disgust, I know the time excuse is a terrible one. I admit that what it really means is ‘I do not wish to spend my time on these things’. And this is true. I work six days a week, I have two blogs and will soon be contributing to another, and I want to do better at keeping up with friends and social events. So sometimes I like doing absolutely nothing on my train journey, because I’ve got up early and want an extra snooze, or because I’ve run out of enough mental energy to produce anything of value. I don’t want to spend a free evening trying to take ‘artistic’ photos of a vase of flowers or my dinner because I forgot to take a photo of the week!

Some people probably think the whole point of goals is doing something you dislike in the short-term (e.g. extra exercise) to achieve long-term goals (e.g. losing weight). And as productive as many of my weekly goals would be, I don’t want this blog to become a chore. We all have a limited amount of free time to do what we want. I used to think I’d be happier keeping busy, busy, busy, checking things off yet another list, but now I like to be a little self-indulgent.

Today I stopped worrying so much about using every minute efficiently, and forgot about posting a quote and a photo and a piece of writing and an actual blog post this week. Instead, I got a couple of little jobs done and still had plenty of time to relax. Can I reserve the freedom to spend an entire hour of my day off singing songs from musicals? The dog was even treated to a long walk, without me looking at my watch once. (Although I was still looking for photo opportunities… as I said, I’m not abandoning the goals completely.)

Happy Charlie!

Goals are a great way to stay motivated, but your original aim might not always be the right fit (e.g. you aimed to lose two stone in a week). Then, all of a sudden, they’re demotivating. It might be strange on this type of site, but I reckon that, sometimes, letting go of goals is the best move. With these goals, it is, because if I’m honest with myself, my overarching objective when it comes to this blog is just to make myself happy!

3 thoughts on “Letting Go of Goals

Leave a Comment

