Blogging and Me: The Liebster Award

liebster-award

Clare and I were nominated for this award last year, but in the past month two other lovely bloggers – Morgan and Faith have nominated me for the Liebster award. It’s a way to get to know other bloggers better, promote new bloggers, and show that you are enjoying the work of others.

Each of the girls set me questions, so I thought I might have to write two separate replies, but actually some of the questions were quite similar. I suppose we often have the same curiosities about other bloggers! This is actually the 100th post I have contributed to Wake Up Your Luck, so it’s quite fitting to bring it back to blogging!

Here is my Q&A:

 

All About Blogging

 

What made you start blogging?

I’ve attempted several blogs since I was about fourteen years old, then almost a decade later I started Wake Up Your Luck. The ‘13 goals in 2013’ idea was something to cling on to, which was important, as I often stopped blogging in the past because motivation was thin on the ground. I was also blogging with a friend, which made it easier at the beginning. Now it’s a habit!

 

What are your favourite kinds of blog posts to read?

I love wordy, philosophical posts as well as funny, observational posts.

 

Where do you see your blog this time next year?

I’ll probably have 15 goals for 2015!

 

What is your favourite thing about blogging?

Connecting with people. I love finding great blogs written by ordinary people I never would have met, and getting likes and comments on posts makes my day!

 

How does it feel to be nominated for this award?

I’m really chuffed that both Faith and Morgan thought of Wake Up Your Luck!

 

Me, Myself and I

 

Describe yourself in one word and why.

These questions are always so difficult! (There, I’ve exceeded the word limit already, and I’m actually quite good at being concise.) I thought it was impossible, because I’m a bit of a mass of contradictions, but one common theme is that I’m a dreamer.

 

What is a quote you live by?

 

What inspires you?

Beautiful writing, music and great ideas.

 

What are five things you love?

Quality time with family and friends, reading, writing, going new places, and music.

 

How would you battle negativity?

When I’m feeling down, I try to remember the great things I have that I shouldn’t take for granted. Besides, it’s on these days that an earlier finish at work or an unexpected message from a friend can make me happiest!

 

What is your favourite book and why?

My favourite book is still the entire Harry Potter series (I will not choose) and it probably always will be. I experienced the mania, queued at midnight for new books, and knew the sheer bliss that was the first chapter of a new book after years of waiting. I grew up with Harry and co, and you can only do that once. It’s almost more than a book, so my second favourite is The Humans by Matt Haig.

 

What is your favourite TV show?

I think for my generation Friends’ quotes have practically become part of our vocabulary. I know that I’m always surprised if someone my age doesn’t get the references! However, more recently I’ve fallen in love with Grey’s Anatomy. It might sound OTT, but a programme with so much life, love and death in it can only make you appreciate your own life a little more!

 

What is the one thing you hope to achieve in future?

I want to write a novel I’m proud of and have it published.

 

What is one of your favourite memories?

This will sound crazy, as I love going new places and I’ve been fortunate to spend a decent amount of time in some really special places. However, one of my favourite moments was almost exactly two years ago, when I returned from a year in Paris. It had been an amazing time, full of highs and lows, but when I got off the plane all by myself and stepped back into the airport, it was one of the sweetest feelings. I love travelling, but I also love coming home.

 

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

Top of my list is New York. I always told my friends we should go to celebrate our 30th birthdays, and warned everyone not to have babies anywhere around that time! I’m not sure why it holds so much fascination for me (it’s probably not all good). Now I’m so excited because I’m going to see it earlier than planned… in a month, in fact!

 

If you were given one wish, what would you wish for?

You have no idea how difficult it was for me to narrow my other answers down, so one wish? I’m not sure I could ever decide!

 

My Nominees

http://tartanmouth.blogspot.co.uk

http://siobhanbev.wordpress.com/

http://lilyjt.wordpress.com/

http://browsingthestacks.wordpress.com

http://annettenimmo.wordpress.com/

http://my10thingsblog.wordpress.com/

http://laurannemaclaren.wordpress.com/

http://nothingrhymeswithemily.com/

 

Normally nominees should have fewer than 200 followers, but I couldn’t tell with some of these blogs so I just nominated who I liked! If my nominees would like to take part in the tag, here’s what you have to do:

 

1. Create a post in response, linking back to the blogger who nominated you.

2. Answer the questions set for you.

3. Nominate around ten bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.

4. Set questions for your nominees.

5. Leave them a message on their blog to let them know they’ve been nominated.

 

These are my questions for you:

 

1. Describe your blog in three words.

2. How would you describe yourself in 140 characters?

3. Why did you start blogging?

4. Do you have a motto or quote you live by?

5. Can you recommend me a book that will make me laugh and cry?

6. If you could play any character in a movie, who would it be?

7. What would be your ideal day?

8. What are your short-term goals?

9. What’s on your bucket list?

 

Happy blogging!

Leave a Comment

