What is the point of a tablet?

I remember when tablets were first invented. (Of course I do, it really wasn’t long ago.) My initial reaction was, eh?! That’s so stupid! We have phones and laptops! Who needs this little hybrid thing that doesn’t actually fulfil the role of either?

Not going to lie, I’m still not 100% sure what they are. I understand what you can use them for (for the most part), but in my head there’s still an element of ‘this is the single most pointless invention ever’.

I want one.

In the beginning, I said, ‘Why do I need it when I have a laptop?’ Now I see, of course I don’t need it. Nobody needs a tablet. That was never the point. Creating something people want, rather than something they actually need, is the way to make money.

To be distinguishable from laptops, advertising for tablets emphasises the lightness of the thing. Before, confused by the whole needs-versus-wants issue, I still thought, ‘Well, my laptop can do all this, and probably better’. It probably still is better, but the truth is that I never carry my laptop unless it’s 110% necessary because I don’t want to put my back out. I have to carry/ensure the safe transport of it for 55 minutes to get to my closest place of work. A tablet probably weighs less than my lunch.

Furthermore, it would mean I am not currently scribbling this post into a notebook to be typed up when I get home later, thereby saving time and avoiding the sideways glances of the passenger with the Kindle beside me, who clearly thinks I’m so retro. I know tablets are not ideal for typing, but neither, as it turns out, is my laptop if I don’t bring it with me.

Lastly, it would mean I don’t spend half an hour when I get home looking through Facebook (because let’s be honest, I do that) or checking Twitter, the (F1/showbiz) news and emails. I could actually remain connected to the big wide world (not that I always want to do that) and become part of the 21st century.

I suppose a couple of you are wondering why I don’t just use my mobile to occasionally tweet nonsense to the internet. Perhaps my reaction to tablets is a giveaway, but I really don’t feel the need to have the latest technology. My phone is now four years old, and yes, once upon a time it did connect to 3G (I’m not even sure it could connect to wireless networks). Sometime earlier this year, however, I temporarily lost the back of the phone, and the phone permanently lost its ability to connect to the internet, save sent texts or store picture messages. Technology really does have a mind of its own.

There’s also a part of me that knows I am already a little addicted to the internet, and once I get a decent phone or a tablet, that’s it – I can access it all the time, and might never switch off! One of the driving factors in considering a tablet is that it would be a good way to stay connected when I’m off travelling next month. I don’t think I’ve spent four weeks without the internet since… I got the internet.

In short, I can’t use my phone, and although my laptop is my baby, it is a blooming heavy one. A tablet works when you’re on the go. I worked out I could gain ten extra hours to be productive every single week. (Of course, we can probably take three hours off that straight away because I will still definitely sleep on at least one train journey a day.)

Do any of you have tablets, for blogging or just in general? Which would you recommend?

2 thoughts on “What is the point of a tablet?

  1. Y. Zheng says:

    I kind of agree with you there, a tablet isn’t a phone or a laptop and it won’t fulfill neither. I remember getting my tablet last year and now it’s sitting beside me. I hardly use it unless to take notes in class or play games. However, a positive side of a tablet is that it’s light and I don’t have to break a sweat just to carry it to school.

    • wakeupyourluck says:

      It’s good that you find it practical for taking notes, as that will probably be one of the main things I use it for. (Nothing useful like uni notes, just my own ramblings!) Hopefully it won’t just mean I spend more time on Facebook…

Leave a Comment

