Spring Has Sprung

DSC00633cropped

For the past few days, we’ve experienced that rarest of things: Scottish sunshine.

It’s been absolutely gorgeous. I thought I might get a couple of nice photos of Edinburgh in the sun, which, of course, didn’t quite turn out as I planned. I wanted to capture the blossom on the trees, contrasted with the railings, and with something of interest in the background – but as my mother admitted, it came out kind of ‘pointless’! Oh well, I still think it’s pretty!

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve been ‘bold’ (goal 8) by trying some new foods. I tried pistachios – not spit-them-out disgusting, but not at all pleasant. Then I tried peanut butter fudge. I don’t like peanut butter, so perhaps unsurprisingly I didn’t like the fudge. (What am I going to do in the States? Americans seem to add peanut butter to 50% of all food.)

Finally, I tried haggis. I know, I know, a Scot who hasn’t tried haggis?! Well, I have now, and it really wasn’t too bad. I was sent spontaneously by my work to do a review of Maison Bleue, which I can now add to my list of fifty new places in 2014, but I didn’t have my camera with me so couldn’t take photos. (Rookie mistake!) It’s a cute, cosy French restaurant with Scottish influences – perfect for a date if you’re in Edinburgh and have adventurous taste buds!

Another new place to add to my list is the Hydro in Glasgow, where I saw McBusted on Thursday night. It was one of the best concerts I have ever seen and will ever see, and there will be more on this in a later post.

Today I had the loveliest of days off with the family. We went shopping, and although I think my dad lost the will to live towards the end, I am now almost entirely prepared for travelling. Here are a few of my favourite purchases:

Pesky labels on display. How did I not see that until now? I am truly terrible at taking photos.

Now I see why people like Primark! If I leant towards the fashion side of lifestyle blogging I would have modelled a few of the outfits for you, but I really can’t be bothered. Shopping is tiring!

I couldn’t resist ducking into Waterstones because I had a few ‘thank you’ presents to buy. I picked up The Humans by Matt Haig (I know I go on and on about it, go and just read it), The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (OK, this was for myself), and The List of My Desires by Grégoire Delacourt (sounds amazing, now on my TBR list). I really need to review a few more books to catch up on my reviewing goal.

To be honest, I have to apologise for slacking on most of my goals so far this year! At least one is well in motion:

14. Go on holiday

Two weeks today ‘til LA!

I hope you’ve had a relaxing, happy Easter weekend!

Leave a Comment

