It was the best of times. Full stop.

I got back from the USA on Saturday morning, after a month of travelling from LA to New York. I’ve seen so many places I always wanted to see, and done so many things that I never even imagined doing. I had the best time of my life.

Here are a few of the weird and wonderful highlights of my USA road trip:

Seeing the Hollywood sign, then I had ‘Party in the USA’ stuck in my head for the first three days of the trip. (Read my LA post here!)

DSC00912

Getting within three feet of a polar bear and a tiger – with some seriously thick glass between us, of course – at San Diego Zoo, one of the best places I’ve ever visited (see my post on it here).

The Vegas party bus.

Driving Route 66, and stopping at Seligman, the town that inspired Pixar movie Cars.

DSC01292

Flying in a helicopter over the Grand Canyon, and trekking into it.

DSC01376

Being shown the rock formations in Monument Valley by one of the Navajo.

DSC01428

Running like Forrest – on the road where he stopped running.

Santa Fe in general, a gorgeous place I never would have thought to visit myself.

Singing karaoke in front of strangers for the first time (Taylor Swift – Love Story in Santa Fe, then The Proclaimers – 500 Miles in a bar on Beale Street)!

Roswell. Enough said!

DSC01497

The barbecue we had the night we were staying in cabins. We stayed out until it was dark, when a giant yellow moon took to the sky.

The Carlsbad Caverns. We spent a good two hours making our way into the cavern and looking around. Stunning.

DSC01576

The drive-in movie theatre (Lubbock, Texas).

Trying fried alligator – then feeling guilty the next day when we went on a swamp tour and saw alligators up close.

DSC01712

Getting a tarot reading in New Orleans.

Watching ducks ‘parade’ down a red carpet into a fountain (the Peabody Hotel, Memphis).

Graceland, and Elvis’ amazing car collection.

DSC01927

Line-dancing in a Nashville saloon!

Getting a Bluebird Café T-shirt, even if I didn’t have time to stay for a show.

Live music in Austin, Texas, home of live music. (And more live music courtesy of the jazz band on the Mississippi riverboat, the gorgeous guy in the little San Diego bar, the blues singer in the bar on Frenchmen Street, the ’80s band at the rooftop we went to in Memphis, and almost every bar in Nashville!)

Experiencing the US capital on Memorial Day.

DSC02250

Running up the Rocky Steps.

Trying Philly cheese steaks.

Finally seeing NYC! Times Square and Broadway is one of my favourite places in the world.

DSC02361

Seeing two shows on Broadway: Once and Matilda.

Meeting some truly special people.

santafeselfie

*

These are just a few of the highlights I can remember off the top of my head, but there will be loads more to come about this trip! Thanks for bearing with a quiet blog over the past couple of weeks!

9 thoughts on “It was the best of times. Full stop.

  1. Pingback: Going for Goals 2014: The Result | Wake Up Your Luck

  2. Pingback: 14 Highlights from 2014 | Wake Up Your Luck

    • It was with Trek America and I would highly recommend them. They organise the route and all the accommodation, but you can also book flights through them. The tour took in so many great places, and there are plenty of tours to choose from. And our leader was absolutely brilliant – young, hilarious and fun!

  3. Pingback: 2014 Half-Year Progress | Wake Up Your Luck

    • It was a lot! For places I was really keen to see (like Nashville and New York) I tried to think of it as a taster session, because I knew there were things we would miss. However, I also got to see a lot of places I wouldn’t have gone myself, which was fantastic!

  4. Sounds like a lovely trip! Did you hike into Havasupai when you went to the Grand Canyon? It’s on my list of things to do (and I’m an American living in Los Angeles, so it’s not too far).

    Also, Santa Fe is stunning.

    • It would have been fantastic, but unfortunately I’m not fit enough to do it! I only hiked an hour or so into the Canyon because I knew it would take me twice as long on the way out. You should definitely plan it though – what an experience that would be!

      I just loved Santa Fe. When people ask about the trip it’s always one of the places I mention because, despite our short stop there, it left a big impression. I bought most of my souvenirs there as well.

Leave a Comment

