Top Ten Tuesdays: Favourite Films

This is the first time I’ve taken part in Top Ten Tuesdays hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week it’s about our favourite stories other than those found in books – for example, in films. Looking at my list you’d be forgiven for thinking I was 16 years old, but perhaps that was the age when I was able to watch films over and over again and cement them as my favourites!

I love movies so it’s difficult to narrow them down, but here are ten I think are perfect. (Spoilers in video clips.)

1. When Harry Met Sally
With a script by Nora Ephron, the comedic talent of Billy Crystal and his chemistry with Meg Ryan, this film is witty, charming and contains one of the best speeches ever. I have already quoted it in this previous post because I love it so much.

2. My Best Friend’s Wedding
Again, I’ve already sang the praises of this film here, but this movie never gets old. It’s hilarious, honest and bittersweet.

3. 10 Things I Hate About You
I have also talked about this film before (they are my absolute favourites, OK?!) because Kat was so smart and sassy I just wanted to be her. It was loosely based on The Taming of the Shrew, and it’s generally agreed that that William Shakespeare guy had some talent, so the story has to be good.

4. A Walk to Remember
Ah, Shane West. He’s probably the reason I went to see the film, but I watched it a hundred times because of the story. It is at once clichéd – high school bad boy falls for the good girl – and terribly sad. No spoilers, but thankfully by about the seventh time you watch this film you can do so without crying.

5. Bring It On
I still remember all the words to the opening chant of this film. All about rival cheerleading teams, it could sound – frankly – God awful, but give me an A – M – A –Z – I – N – G because it’s amazing. We got it from the video shop so many times that it became the first film my sister and I owned on DVD.

6. Bend It Like Beckham
My sister and I watched this almost every day after school for a year. We loved the humour, the characters, the music, the story… and I still do!

7. Pirates of the Caribbean
Epic is definitely the word. Captain Jack Sparrow wants his boat back, and while Johnny Depp makes the film, the story is a strong one – unlike the others in the series, unfortunately.

8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1
The reason this was the best Harry Potter movie was because it followed the book most closely. JK Rowling obviously wrote the books perfectly, and so with time to include most of the plot and some of the details, this HP film was my favourite.

9. A Cinderella Story
A modern version of Cinderella – could you tell? I’m almost embarrassed to include this movie starring Hilary Duff and Chad Michael Murray, but I can’t not. This is potentially the film I’ve watched most often because if my sister and I couldn’t agree on a film, we would just watch this. We never really got bored of it.

10. ALL THE DISNEY/MUSICALS

I love too many Disney films and too many musicals to narrow them down to a single tenth film. Special mentions to Tangled, The Little Mermaid, Toy Story, Cars and Les Misérables!

Do you agree? It’s a list full of romance, comedy and romantic comedy, so not to everyone’s taste! What are your favourite films?

Lauren

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Favourite Films

  1. Paul S says:

    When Harry Met Sally is one of my favourite films and I’ve tried to figure out why, but there are just so many elements. The innocence of the times, the love almost lost, the wonderful relationship between the two characters. Young, ambitious, funny, caring, confused, and so sweet. But that doesn’t come close to explaining the movie’s success.

    • wakeupyourluck says:

      I love the development of the relationship – the best love stories never seem to be instant! It’s written by Nora Ephron, who is brilliant, so it’s witty. The actors are great and have such chemistry. Probably like most things that are a little bit special it’s difficult to explain why!

Leave a Comment

