Knockhill and the Touring Cars

On Sunday, my dad, sister and I packed the car with the folding chairs and some snacks and headed off to Knockhill for a round of the British Touring Car Championship.

DSC02788cropped

This first photo shows how gorgeous the weather was in the morning. In typical Scottish fashion, it switched between sunny and cloudy all day; most of the time I was sitting wrapped in a scarf with my hood up, but I did get to show off my Red Bull Racing polo shirt around lunchtime. (Wrong series, but it’s allowed!)

Although the BTCC is like the headliner of these weekends, both Saturday and Sunday are packed with racing events. This year there were are support races in the form of the Porsche Carrera Cup, Ginetta Juniors and Ginetta GT Supercup, Renault Clio Cup and Formula Ford Championship. Even though I don’t follow any of these series, the races are still interesting. You get a lot for your money with the BTCC – a family ticket for two adults/two concessions was £56, for racing from 9 a.m. until almost 6 o’clock. Considering you can spend around £350 for one ticket for one day at an F1 GP, it’s far more reasonable. (Love you still, F1.)

DSC02804cropped

The racing itself is a little more wheel-to-wheel than Formula 1 (which you wouldn’t imagine if you’d heard the debate raging this week between Hamilton and Rosberg fans). Knockhill has a few narrow corners, which make nice overtaking spots if they manage the move, but cause a few minor accidents if they don’t. We tend to sit by the ‘Esses’ (a corner shaped like an S) because you catch a lot of the on-track action there.

At lunchtime, there’s the chance to walk the paddock, which is one of the best things about the BTCC.

You can get close to the podium:

DSC02808cropped

You can stand within feet of the cars in the pit lane, or watch the mechanics working on the cars in the ‘garages’, not to mention being close to the on-track racing:

These cars have faces.

You can even meet the drivers, who do a signing session during the lunch break.

Gordon Shedden, Mr Popularity at his home race. And one of those girls who is there to look pretty, which is one of the few things that bothers me about motorsport.

It was so busy that I decided not to queue for autographs, but got myself a ridiculously overpriced pick and mix instead.

Mmm, fake strawberries.

A random plus is that it’s one of these events where the queue for the male toilets is longer than the ladies’. However, the toilets are nasty.

There was also an exhibition of cars belonging to Jim Clark, who was one of the greatest racing drivers Scotland has produced. I think this one was my favourite:

DSC02806cropped

I also got a little postcard to add to my album:

DSC02862cropped

All in all, it was another great day out at the BTCC. I love that it’s the kind of event that is suitable for whole families – although there was a poor little boy crying at the noise of the touring cars!

Chuffed with the timing of this photo.

Hope you had a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Knockhill and the Touring Cars

  1. I don’t know anything at all outside F1, is the Porsche cup you mentioned the one Mark Webber is in?
    The Jim Clark car looks like a spaceship! Jealous of your Red Bull top. Even though it is Red Bull I think they look really smart.

    Amy at Amy & More

    • No, he’s in a different event Porsche takes part in – the World Endurance Championship, Google tells me! I don’t know much outside F1 either. The Jim Clark car is amazing! Ha ha, exactly, even if I wasn’t a Red Bull fan I would think it was a good-looking uniform!

Leave a Comment

