Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

This week has been mental.

I’ve been reading Station Eleven on my many train journeys around Central Scotland. It is about a post-apocalyptic world following a pandemic, so it isn’t exactly the lightest reading material.

DSC03013cropped

Then we had the referendum on Scottish independence on Thursday, and it’s safe to say that caused information overload and distracted my attention from everything.

This weekend, I was treated to a visit from friends from Trek! Can’t believe it had been four months since I’d seen them already. I also can’t believe I didn’t get any photos of us reunited! I came away with two videos of us at karaoke, but I don’t think I should subject you to that. (Although it was a cracking rendition of ‘Part Of That World’, if I say so myself.)

Yesterday and today I also volunteered at Bloody Scotland, the crime writing festival. I got to meet a few big names in crime, which was really cool. If you’re a fan of the genre, volunteer next year – you’ll get to meet some of your favourite authors, and sit in on some of the events for free.

DSC03026cropped

And in ‘minor changes’ news, I got a new haircut.

And the major reason I’m feeling the pressures of time a little: I’m moving to London.

I told you already that I had work experience lined up in November. Well, on Monday I was offered two weeks with one of the biggest names in publishing, starting at the beginning of October. Within three hours, I had a place to stay and a notice letter ready.

I’m actually really sad to leave my current job, but it’s the right time. Two of my friends live together in London, and the room in their house becomes available the day before my work experience begins – I’m taking it as a sign!

I reckon this can count for goal eight, and being bold.

Anyway, I’m writing this at ten thirty, but it feels like three in the morning, so I’m off to bed! Another busy week ahead.

Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Leave a Comment

