So many books, so little time

My ‘To Be Read’ list is so long, and the pile of new books in my room so high, that I have developed a new bad reading habit.

So excited to start my new books (stop buying them, then!), I read a chapter, then pick up another new book and read a chapter or two of it, then try another new book and on and on it goes.

DSC03030cropped

This is a pile of books I’ve started and not yet finished. They were the first that came to hand, and are only a few of those books left half-read over the past couple of years. I do want to read most of them – I just wanted to read another one at the same time.

Even a book-buying ban didn’t make any difference. I had so many points on my Waterstones card that I was able to order Station Eleven for free. I won yet another book on Twitter (Choose Me by Kay Langdale). And then last weekend, I got a free book at Bloody Scotland (The Crooked House by Christobel Kent) where I volunteered.

To be fair, I have actually managed to finish three books this month. Right at the beginning of September, I was off sick for a day and couldn’t look at the computer screen, so I finished The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, which I’d been reading here and there for a couple of months. I finished Station Eleven last week, mostly because I had become aware of this bad new habit and was determined to break it. The only book that compelled me to read it from start to finish in a day was The Giver by Lois Lowry.

Perhaps I am now a lazy reader, and I need the book to do all the work to force me to finish it. Or maybe I’m just not dedicating enough time to getting to know the characters and getting into the story before becoming distracted by a new book! Less time on the computer and Twitter would definitely help too.

What about you? Do you also spend too much on new books? Or are you one of those people who has to finish a book before starting anything else?

Update:

Since writing this post, you can add Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle to my ‘To Be Finished’ list.

2 thoughts on “So many books, so little time

  1. jenniferw19 says:

    Reading one chapter and then moving onto another book? Sounds exactly like me!

    I’m halfway through The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August. I loved the beginning but I’m finding it a bit of a slog now. Is it worth persevering?

  2. Iram Imtiaz (@lovestruck4loub) says:

    Haha I love this! I’m a bookworm myself but I have to finish a book before I start a new one. I’ve got a few books actually which are waiting to be finished and that’s either because they are boring, too complicated and I can’t be arsed or it’s a business book which isn’t entertaining.

    Like you, I just keep buying more books though so I’ve got tons to get through.

    Love,
    Iram @ Lovestruck for Louboutins

Leave a Comment

