Home Sweet Home

Bonsoir, lovely readers.

I am still here! Had a busy weekend, as I was back home. We had bought my dad tickets to see Jersey Boys for his birthday, so I got the train back up on Thursday and spent a lovely couple of days with the family. It wasn’t long enough!

DSC03161cropped

On the Friday morning, my mum, sister and I went to Stirling to do some shopping. My sister works at a stable and needed some new clothes for it, and managed to spend possibly the most anyone has ever spent in Primark. I, on the other hand, spent the Waterstones gift card that was part of my leaving present from work. I got Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood and MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood, as well as More Than This by Patrick Ness.

We went through to Edinburgh in the afternoon, and I popped into my old work. It was lovely to see everyone again. They were the people I saw most after my family, after all! What a relief, though, to realise that it was the school holidays and I didn’t have to work!

I met my mum and sister for dinner. We went to The Slug and Lettuce, because the Omni centre is so handy when you’re going to the Playhouse, then we met dad just before the show. I might review it, so I won’t say too much just now, but it was fantastic.

On Saturday, I caught up with a couple of friends, although I realised there definitely wasn’t time to see everyone I had said I would! Then I went home and my sister had made rock buns and crispy cakes and we watched all the Saturday night telly. My sister and I haven’t lived together for years now, so I liked getting to spend some quality time together.

DSC03164cropped

Monstrous rock buns.

 

DSC03165cropped

The imperfect one at the front.

 

To be honest, I wasn’t really looking forward to coming back to London. How utterly brilliant it was to be home. Home – where the bathroom is so clean you could operate in it, and where there is always clean cutlery when you need it! Home – where there’s always food in the cupboards! Home – where I can snuggle up in my own bed, and not worry that there’s a damp wall beside me!

I might even be willing to work school holidays again. Hmm, can’t go back now – they gave me an awesome leaving present, and I just spent that gift card…

And of course, when I got to King’s Cross, I had to endure a trip on the underground with zero personal space (what’s new?), a twenty-minute wait for no train to my destination, and my attempt at trying a different route ending in a replacement bus service. It took a further two hours, on top of the five-hour train journey, to arrive at the house. I could have flown to New York in that amount of time, for crying out loud.

Before, when I was determined to make progress with publishing, I always thought that at least I had a job I liked in the meantime, and great friends and family. Now I can’t help thinking, having left it all to move here, perhaps I’m not left with very much.

That’s not true, of course – everyone’s still there if I need them. And I should remember I’m living in one of the most exciting cities in the world. I’ve been so worried about running out of money that I haven’t been making the most of being here. Let’s turn that frown upside down! Obviously I can’t do it all, and should really wait until I have a job to get a social life. However, I am going stir crazy sitting inside, working on applications that probably don’t even get looked at 90% of the time.

Over the next couple of days, I’m going to get to know the city a little better, and treat myself to a show – the whole reason I loved London in the first place. It’s funny that the thing I associate so much with this city is part of the reason I went home at the weekend – and the reason behind my next trip back!

Who knows? Perhaps spending money will prompt the universe to realise that I could use some more of it, and throw up an interview or two.

5 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. When I lived away it was always the same when I returned home, the same things you noticed like the clean bathroom etc! I understand how you feel though my situation’s are always slightly different. I admire your dedication to the job applying, i’ve given up for a few weeks, need to back into it because I don’t want to be where I am at Christmas!

    Can’t you just get a cheap theatre ticket from one of those booths? Just go and see any play that’s cheap. That should work for both your mind and your purse! x

      • Yay, good for you! I’m coming to London this month and was considering doing this but I don’t think i’ll have time, gonna do loads of stuff that day (for as cheap as possible!).

  2. Oh man, I haven’t had rock buns since I left the UK. I’m going to have to hunt out a recipe and try and convert it all into cup sizes and bake myself some, they were my favorite!

    I hope your feeling better and more at one with London again soon. x

    • Rock buns are our go-to baking option if we have no good food in the house! You should definitely make some – or a few, until converting grams/ounces to cups is perfected!

      Today was a good day. If I can get a job soon, it’ll just be a bit easier! Thanks x

Leave a Comment

