When my luck woke up

I realise it has been over a month since I actually wrote anything about my goals or life in general. It wasn’t that there hadn’t been enough going on, there was just a lot of waiting too.

My second month in London was a little different from the first. I had two weeks of work experience with a fantastic team for a great company, which boosted my confidence and motivation again.

I did a bit more exploring – mainly of food places, I have to admit, but I think I might have completed my fifty-new-places list by now. I read one of the two classics I’m supposed to read this year – To Kill a Mockingbird, which was brilliant – so I might soon check another goal off the list. I got a crazy surprise when I found out that some lyrics I wrote made the semi-finals of the UK Songwriting Contest, which provides creative writing that I can post here when they don’t make the finals!

I also had the chance to reconnect with a couple of people from uni, which helped me to feel more at home here – despite the stress of the job-hunt. There were more applications, finally an interview or two, and then…

I got a job! A full-time, permanent, paid, brilliant job in publishing. Around eighteen months after sending my first application, and about 200 CVs and covering letters later, I never thought I had the tiniest chance at this job. I knew it was the type of post I wanted, but after the interview I set my heart on the place. I spent a week being a nervous wreck, but it was worth the wait!

To go off on a slight tangent, I knew I had the skills and experience to work in publishing, but you need a bit of luck as well. Some people seem offended when you tell them that they’re lucky, and they reply how hard they have worked to get where they are. However, there are lots of people out there also working hard, who can’t get to where they want to be. There are factors out of your control involved in most things, particularly getting jobs. Even if you’re an entrepreneur, you need external factors to go your way if you’re going to be successful. This is luck. You can make as many calculations or predict as effectively as you like, but you can’t make things go the way you want all of the time.

Perhaps you think that contradicts the saying behind the title of this blog: ‘Go ahead and wake up your luck.’ Well, it’s not about being able to control everything and construct your perfect life, because if it were that simple we’d all been doing it. A lot of us try, but as these dreams conflict with one another it causes situations that throw some of us off-course for a while. For me, waking up your luck is about putting yourself in the best place possible (figuratively and literally, in my case) to get what you want. You can’t force ‘right place, right time’, but you can encourage it! And once you’ve done all you can, things can fall to pieces or fall into place.

Anyway, all I wanted to say was that, at some point over the last couple of months, my luck turned. I’ve spent so long worrying about and working towards jobs that it’s a strange but welcome change. Now, when I can just stop worrying about possibility of jinxing it all, I would have to say that I’m plain old happy.

3 thoughts on “When my luck woke up

    • Thank you! I can’t quite believe it. I start in a week. Ha ha, I won’t be going all London! Now I have the job checked off, I’m sure I’ll be complaining about the tube and crowds in no time!

      • Oh please don’t complain about the tube. Well you can, but I don’t like those complaints lol. We never complain about trains in the rest of the country, I think London seems to think they are so badly put upon all the time! Appears I have some sort of problem with London, sorry!! 😀 x

Leave a Comment

