‘It Feels Like Christmas!’

Christmas shopping, Covent Garden, The Muppet Christmas Carol… these are the things that made me happy this week:

Natural History Museum. It was the dinosaur exhibition that tempted me along, and I’m so glad I went. What a place! I’m going to write a post about it, so won’t say too much just now, but if you’re in London trying to choose between the free museums, I would recommend this one.

DSC03339C

V&A. I tried to look around the V&A when I came out of the Natural History Museum, and my brain wasn’t having it. I saw the fashion part, which is what I always associate the V&A with in my mind anyway, but I got to the Raphael Cartoons and the only reaction I could muster was ‘Ooh, big paintings!’ It was time to go home. The shop was great, though. I got a lovely present for my mum, but she might read this so I’ll need to post a picture of it later!

Stationery. Yes, I am a stationery geek. I went a little overboard in Paperchase one day. I got wrapping paper and gift tags – acceptable, since it’s Christmas – but I also ended up with a desk planner, notebook and glasses case (bizarrely). Look how cute they are though:

Café Rouge, Blackheath. I love going out for dinner, especially considering I keep running out of food or snacks. (9.30 a.m. is too early for soup, right?) Well, I’d never been to Blackheath, which is a nice little bit of London, so we went to the Café Rouge there. I’ve been to the one in Glasgow before, but this one is far nicer!

Awesome Christmas cards. How great are these? The Scottie one is from the V&A shop, the other two are just from WHSmith.

DSC03428C

Cocktails with friends. I introduced three girls I knew on Thursday, and they got on like a house on fire. We had a fantastic night, once again heading to Be At One for their happy hour (two-for-one cocktails until 7). Then we stayed on for a decent amount of time, considering my housemate and I almost missed the last train.

The Muppet Christmas Carol. We went to see this at the cinema yesterday. The one time I sat down to watch this before I fell asleep and missed most of it. (This was not a reflection of the film, just my level of fatigue that day!) It was lovely to finally see it, and I’ve had the songs stuck in my head since. Nice to get into the Christmas spirit!

Not on the High Street. I love this site! There are so many unusual things on offer. It can be difficult when buying online to know the quality of products, but I just picked up a couple of little extras for people’s presents. Or, rather than an online marketplace, you could always head along to an actual market like…

Spitalfields Market. I LOVE this place. I love markets, but this one is possibly my favourite. Perhaps it is the sheer scale of it, or perhaps it is simply the fact that I wanted to buy something every few minutes. Either way, there must be something of interest to everyone here: clothes, accessories, artwork, food… what more could you ask for? Some of the companies present do accept card payments, but try to make sure you have a decent amount of cash before going if you’re looking for gifts.

Covent Garden. I had skirted past Covent Garden so many times, and never had a proper look. Well, at Christmas time, it is gorgeous. It is 100% worth a visit to see the decorations, the tree and the market here.

DSC03374C

DSC03373C

With two Christmas dinners next week and the work Christmas party, it looks set to be another great week!

Hope your week has been a good one!

Lauren

Leave a Comment

