If we were having coffee #1

‘If we were having coffee’ is a weekend conversational feature on Part-Time Monster, and this week I’m joining in! If we were having coffee – I would not be drinking coffee, as it’s disgusting, but you can – I would tell you I’ve been… …reading The Restoration of Otto Laird by Nigel Packer. One of my favourite lines:

And in doing so, they would forget, at times, that the future they were planning was imaginary. “But then most futures are,” Cynthia said to Daniel one day. “Life rarely works out as we plan it.” (p. 227)

…working. That’s now over one month in the new job, and I can’t believe how quickly it’s gone, even with that break for Christmas in the middle! …eating Quorn. Yes, I tried a Quorn lasagne, which I was a little wary of, but it was actually not that different from an ordinary lasagne. …visiting The Roadhouse, Covent Garden; The Rocket, King’s Cross; and a pub I don’t remember the name of – lots of events this week! …feeling shattered! I need a whole day in bed. However, as I have a champagne afternoon tea to look forward to today, and I’m going out this evening, relaxing will have to wait until tomorrow! I’ll write a more substantial post then. Have a great weekend!

7 thoughts on “If we were having coffee #1

  1. So glad you joined us! You might considering adding your post to think link-up on today’s weekend coffee share on the Monster so others can get to it easily. 🙂

    I hated coffee until I went to grad school and developed a need for it. lol

    • Thanks for retweeting and everything! I will be taking part again (I am going to be a better blogger this year!) so I will remember to post the link next time.

      I really feel like I could use the caffeine sometimes, but I just can’t stomach the coffee yet!

      • Awesome—and no worries! Some days there’s just not time enough for everything.

        I started drinking coffee when I started graduate school, and I really hated the taste of coffee but wanted caffeine without soda. I drank super-sweet, probably-as-bad-or-worse-than-soda coffees for a while until I could stomach the bitter coffee taste. lol

    • It was a great lasagne! And the afternoon tea was lovely as well. My secret is… I don’t actually like tea! (How very un-British!) But a champagne afternoon tea I can get on board with…

Leave a Comment

