Treating ourselves at BB Bakery

This is one of my favourite places in London. Tucked away on a side street in Covent Garden, this French tea salon offers ridiculously good cakes. And, you know, tea.

My friend, Grace, introduced us to it a few weeks ago, and I went back the very next week when my sister came to visit because it was one of the cutest places I could think of to show her. It is pricey, but if you’re meeting someone for lunch or coffee and a cake, then it’s a real treat.

I got a BB lunch deal at £18.50: a sandwich, cake and drink. I got fizzy juice, because tea is just dirty water, and a brie and bacon sandwich.

20150117_121129

Brie and bacon is one of the top five food combinations you can get, so they’re on to a winner. The sandwiches are served with vegetable crisps, which are nice considering they’re made from beetroot and stuff.

And that was followed by this:

IMG_20150104_151928

This is easily one of the three best cakes I have ever had. There is chocolate mousse inside, then vanilla cream right in the middle. And there’s gold on it.

The second time, I got this cake:

IMG_20150117_124635

It is soft on top with caramel in the middle, but the base was quite hard to break. Not as amazing as the Darling cake, but still good! They have a decent selection of fancy cakes and cupcakes, so I’m bound to go back to try another one soon.

All in all, it was a delicious – if indulgent – two courses. It was as filling as going out for a meal, and you’d pay just under £20 in most restaurants for a main and dessert.

They also do afternoon tea, Champagne afternoon tea, and afternoon tea on a big red bus – obviously on my list of things to do this year.

2 thoughts on “Treating ourselves at BB Bakery

  1. Pingback: Exploring London: Fourteen finds for my first year | Wake Up Your Luck

  2. Pingback: Six Months Gone | Wake Up Your Luck

Leave a Comment

