If we were having coffee: Harry Potter and the hole punch

Joining the #WeekendCoffeeShare on Twitter and Part-Time Monster again!

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you the reason we couldn’t catch up last week is things got too busy! This week has been quieter, but it was very welcome.

I am almost two months into my first grown-up job, and I feel like I’m starting to settle in. I got great feedback from one of the managers this week, which was a nice boost. However, there were a few bizarre things I did not expect about the 9 to 5:

  1. My hole punch came with an instruction booklet.
  2. I actually had to read it.
  3. I am a stationery fiend. I did already know this, but our stationery cupboard isn’t even particularly interesting and I still can’t resist having a look every time I walk past. I have every possible size of Post-It, record cards that I don’t have a use for, a pencil made from recycled CD cases, and about twenty pens.
  4. The commute is the most soul-destroying thing on the planet. It’s all very uncivilised. We are cattle at rush hour, only occasionally faster moving.
  5. It’s hard to shake the feeling of being an intern.
  6. Time moves so fast that every week feels a day shorter.
  7. I have finally felt that Friday feeling, and, even though I love my job, it is awesome.

In a couple of months I’m going to Italy with work – oh, it’s a hard life! – and so I’ve started to learn Italian with the help of Berlitz’s Italian in 30 Days. Let’s hope it does what it says on the tin!

New hobby. #ciao #Italian #spaghetticarbonara

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

 

I spent a ridiculous amount on books this week, but I had a good reason: Thursday 5 February was the first Harry Potter Book Night. I went to the event at Waterstones Piccadilly, where there were guests from Mugglenet and Pottermore, as well as Jonny Duddle, illustrator of the new covers. I got a copy of his version of book five, as it’s one of my favourites, and the beautiful slipcase edition of Philosopher’s Stone, both signed by him.

20150207_093118

 

20150207_093144

There were readings from the books, if not my favourite sections. (The end of chapter one, book one is one of the best things I’ve ever read.) And it was funny to talk to a couple of girls in the lift about how worried they were that we might be surrounded by kids, only for the lifts to open and show a room full of people our age. (The Harry Potter generation is all grown up now!) However, there was a little kid dressed up who was the spitting image of Harry himself.

I JUST WANT TO LIVE IN THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS! #HarryPotterBookNight

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

 

This has been a week where I’ve been able to get back to my blog and get things in order. Everyone needs a week like that every now and then! I’ve managed to cut out a couple of things that were wasting time, and save money where I was spending a little too much. However, now I’m off out shopping! I need a new handbag, as the zip on my faithful, goes-with-everything, neutral handbag has burst – boo! But what a lovely excuse to meet some friends and have another catch-up…

So, what’s been going on with you?

#WeekendCoffeeShare

11 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Harry Potter and the hole punch

  1. The Twentysomething Social Recluse says:

    I laughed at loud at the comments about the hole puncher! Also, we share the same favourite Harry Potter book. 🙂

  2. Corina says:

    I’m sure the Harry Potter even at the bookstore was wonderful. I haven’t been to anything like that in a long time. I used to take my kids to the release parties for the novels at one of the local bookstores (Barnes & Noble or the now defunct Borders). They were fun. They began at 9 PM and there were lots of activities then the actual release of the book was at midnight. By midnight, most of the little kids were gone and it was just the adults and teens left. My kids got to stay even though they were not all teens. I just thought it was a fun thing that they wanted to attend so I went with them each time. Then my son, who was a teen by then, would race with me to see who could finish the book first! Had to get multiple copies of the book! Great fun.

    • wakeupyourluck says:

      I adored the midnight releases! And my sister and I also used to buy a book each because neither of us could wait to read them. We would sit and read them together and she always hated when I couldn’t hide my reactions because I read a little bit faster! It’s crazy, but lovely, to think that a book series caused such excitement!

  3. Diana says:

    Those are some amazing book-finds!

    I’m also a stationary fiend, despite the fact that I rarely mail anything anymore. It’s an odd compulsion.

    Glad you joined us this weekend!

Leave a Comment

