You make me feel so young

I didn’t mean to post today, but the Daily Prompt has me all nostalgic:

Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

Just the other day I read a reference to Holst’s The Planets, and it didn’t remind me of some fabulous night seeing an orchestra – it reminded me of the recorder.

We all learned the recorder in primary school. Why, I really don’t know. It’s one of the most ridiculous instruments ever invented. However, when we got to primary seven, suddenly we were keen to learn, because in primary seven you got to learn Jupiter.

I don’t know if you know it – even if you don’t think you do, you have probably heard it – but the middle section is just beautiful. And even the questionable recorder skills of sixty twelve-year-olds couldn’t hide that.

*

My gran had an organ in the front room – that’s where I first learned to play music, but I learned do, re, mi, instead of ABC then. Gran always had Lilt and Animal Bars. She only had around five films, so Three Men and a Baby and Three Men and a Little Lady always remind me of her.

My other gran always used to sing the Skye Boat Song. And whenever I find myself crying, properly crying, I hear her telling my sister and me that tears are precious, and we mustn’t waste them.

*

All the Small Things will forever remind me of my first big crush. He did the worm to this in primary seven.

The Spice Girls’ Stop is my friends and I dancing, and arguing over who was which Spice Girl.

*

The word ‘privilege’ takes me back to the Blackwell spelling test. I scored 99 out of 100. Now I will never forget how to spell this word.

*

Whenever I see a two-part invoice, where your writing prints through to the second page and each party gets to keep one of the copies, it reminds me of a spectacular mistake I made at dad’s work one time. I was copying the cartoon from his mug: a man completely out of breath, and the words ‘Fit for Fifty’. Unfortunately, I had been leaning on a large pile of invoices and it copied right through several of them…

The smell of tyres always reminds me of being there. There were tyres in the warehouse big enough for my sister and me to stand inside.

*

A surefire shortcut back to childhood? The books I read. I went to the library almost every week and left with literally as many books as I could carry. I raced through The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Guess How Much I Love You, then Sweet Valley Twins, Sweet Valley High, and Sweet Valley University.

I remember when my mum, sister and I fell in love with Schnitzel von Krumm, and how my mum came home with the book years later. By this time we were far older than the target audience, but we loved it just as much, if not more, than before.

*

With some things, like books, it is easy to reread those that affected you as a child and it feels just like the first time you read it. With other things, I guess you never know what’s going to leave a lasting impression!

Leave a Comment

