Gym-iny cricket, what have I done?

The reason they say ‘Never say never!’ is I just joined a gym.

Yes, Lauren, the Anti-Gym, who believes that exercise for the sake of exercise has got to be one of the most boring pastimes on the planet.

In my defence, this is partly because I was planning on going to a class at this gym, and this way I get all classes free. I also joined partly because my friend needed a gym buddy. How selfless of me to sacrifice my lazy lifestyle! It also means I have now entered into the first joint anything of my whole life. Keep marriage and joint mortgages and other equally terrifying commitments – from now I will always be able to say that one time I had a joint gym membership, and they can’t take that away from me.

So I will go to Zumba and try yoga and perhaps play a bit of badminton. I admit that one time – OK, two times! – I have been on a cross-trainer and actually didn’t want cry with boredom, so I might even use one of those on occasion. However, if I ever get an app that tells the world how many calories I burned in a session, feel free to whack me with a yoga mat.

At the moment, I’m still in a state of shock over this recent, most ridiculous expenditure and will be spending the weekend ignoring the fact. My friend is coming to visit, so we will go to a museum and see a show – all things that are much more me.

In other news, I added a couple more new places to my list of fifty this year: the Chalet, the Restaurant on the Roof at Selfridges; and Wildwood, a nice little Italian near Covent Garden. I’ll post some mini restaurant reviews soon. I also got tickets to see Mean Girls at a rooftop cinema, which will be awesome as long as it doesn’t rain. This is one of the things you have to give London credit for: there is always something new and slightly weird to try, like having a seven-course meal on the Tube, or… joining a gym.

*

(Or like using very bad puns. Apologies for the title. I too respect myself a little less than before.)

5 thoughts on “Gym-iny cricket, what have I done?

  1. Pingback: Londonniversary: A year of life in London | Wake Up Your Luck

  2. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share: Dancing and Daydreaming | Wake Up Your Luck

  3. I haven’t been to my gym NEARLY enough since the start of the year. Next week is the starting point for me I think. I much prefer the classes and the swimming pool to the actual gym, although every now and then I’ll go on the treadmill and I might try to do that a little more regularly this year.

    Good luck! I’m wishing myself the same!

    Sorcha x Bright Field Notes

    • Well I went for the first time tonight and, as long as I go with my friend and it’s almost sociable, I’ll enjoy it. I mostly joined for the classes though. Got Zumba tomorrow which is always fun! Good luck with yours!

  4. Hahaha good luck with the gym! Though to be fair classes are much easier to stick to than the actual gym. Mean Girl outdoors sounds awesome. That is something I do admire about the big cities, that there is always something going on. xx

Leave a Comment

