Weekend Coffee Share: Dancing and Daydreaming

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that the past couple of weeks have been a decent time for getting through some of my 15 goals in 2015.

1. Visit fifty new places

My friend visited last weekend, so we went to the Science Museum. There were a couple of great exhibits on cravings, genes and memory, which I found particularly interesting. However, like the Natural History Museum, it’s so big that I didn’t have the concentration to see everything at once. I also visited the Shaftesbury Theatre in order to see the brilliant musical Memphis, which I already wrote about here.

20150221_115721

 

Forth Rail Bridge

Model of the Forth Rail Bridge to make me feel at home.

 

2. Go on holiday

Following a pretty tough week at work, and the return of the itchy feet, I have been looking at cheap flights and holidays. A friend and I are discussing Rome in April, which is one of the top fives place I would love to visit. Before that, though, I have this Friday off so I can head home for the weekend. How strange when going home becomes a holiday…

4. Read two books a month

I read not two books but three in February, including Wake by Anna Hope, set in the aftermath of WWI. It was really affecting, and it’s made me realise that – as much as she’s told us about the Second War World – I’ve never asked my gran about the day she heard it was over.

5. Go to a dance class

You might have already read that I joined a gym. I’ve got dragged into my friend’s self-improvement streak, but it’s probably not the worst thing. I achieved goal number five this morning, when I went along to Zumba. I have tried Zumba in the past and it’s hilarious. I would love to get better at it, but sometimes merely attempting some of the moves is half the fun. It was a good little exercise in willpower too, because I didn’t even go with my gym buddy! Getting up with the sunshine on a Saturday is going to be the new plan – it makes the weekend feel a little bit longer and Monday morning that little bit further away.

Cake

It will take a lot of hip-shaking to burn these off! Last Sunday saw another trip to BB Bakery. They were even better than they look.

 

11. Save money every month

I’m chucking this goal out. It’s good and sensible, but boring as anything. So it’s getting swapped for the exact opposite: I will treat myself once a month. In January, it was tickets to see Les Mis. In February, it was tickets to see Memphis, not to mention a mini shopping spree yesterday. Finishing one particularly difficult task with twenty minutes to spare, I practically skipped out of the office all the way to Oxford Street.

Now though, it’s time to down the coffee (eugh) because it’s almost time to swap it for cocktails! I hope you’ve all had a good week – and have an even better weekend!

13 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Dancing and Daydreaming

  1. I like your the idea of waking up in the early AM on Saturdays, extending the weekend and prolonging Monday. Now if only I can get my bum to get out of bed haha. Those desserts look ALL of the yummy, by the way. Drooling over here! SOOOOO worth the extra hip shaking 😉

    • I’m always so tempted to stay in bed after getting up early in the week, but I can always have more of a rest on Sunday if needs be. (And needs did be this morning!) And yes, the cakes were totally worth it!

    • They were so good! I never have particularly difficult or impressive goals, but I like to set some because I feel like it helps me to get more out of free time. Thank you!

  2. I’ve been doing the same thing, going back to those yearly goals and taking stock. It’s so satisfying when you see that you are making progress and chipping away at all the things you want to accomplish. The trip sounds fantastic. Thanks for coffee!
    BTW The plate the second bar style cake is on (the one with the sort of Greek Key pattern on the edge) is my china pattern. I had to mention that. : )

    • I just can’t believe it’s March already, which means there has been a decent chunk of the year already and enough time to achieve something – hopefully! I seem to be progressing more quickly than previous years, which is great. Good luck with yours! And what a coincidence about the china pattern!

  3. So much accomplished, look at you! We’re barely done with February, you know. 🙂

    I hope you do get to go to Rome. It’s a place I’d love to visit, too!

  4. I think replacing a goal to save money with the chance to go see awesome theater is a very good decision 🙂 I’m trying to figure out how to do both… my saving at the moment mostly consists of a few bucks a month (but it’s something at least, right?)

Leave a Comment

