Circle of Five: I wanna be like you-hoo-hoo

Interesting Daily Prompt today:

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

I’ve never heard this quote before, but it does make some sense. Think how often your friend uses an unusual word and it sneaks into your vocabulary, or how often you trust their advice when making decisions. The people you spend most time with are likely to be people you like (surely), and so there are bound to be things about them that you admire and subconsciously try to emulate.

Since high school I’ve had a bit of difficulty staying in one place, so the five people I spend the most time with have changed annually, and I think I changed a little each time. That’s not to say I don’t have best friends – there are two groups of three girls that I’ve known since I was twelve or younger, and they must always be in my life! And I have the best family.

However, when you go from your hometown to Edinburgh to Paris to Salamanca to Edinburgh to Paris to Edinburgh then back home, then to London… well, you can’t take everybody with you all the time. There have been short-term friends from far-flung countries, classmates who made the courses worthwhile, and the best colleagues that made me love my job(s). I have known some amazing people, even if I won’t know them forever, and I would hope that I’ve learned something from each of them.

Here in London, I technically spend most time with my colleagues. They are a lovely group of women, from Korea to Poland, Finland to Italy, and I am so glad to be working with them. However, the people who influence you most are probably those you see outside of work. I have managed to collect three people I knew from different points in my life, and they all get along like a house on fire! Being here is so much easier and more fun because of them. They are all intelligent, confident, independent, loyal, funny and frankly formidable women, and I would be very happy to be the average of those three.

However, if we were to use a few famous references, I would love to spend time with:

 

1. Taylor Swift. She is lovely to her fans and still seems very down-to-earth, despite being one of the most successful women on the planet right now. It would also be excellent if some of her songwriting ability rubbed off on me. I wish I’d written Love Story, All Too Well, Dear John, Last Kiss, Back to December… yes, I could go on. She gets a lot of stick, but she’s super talented.

20150207_093118

2. J. K. Rowling. This lady is supremely talented. There will never be another Harry Potter, but if I ever came up with an idea half as good then that would be my masterpiece. Again, not only is she incredibly successful, but she is kind and generous.

3. Jenna Marbles. Taylor Swift is sweet, so let’s balance it out with a little bit of attitude. Jenna Marbles is a hilarious, ballsy YouTuber who brought us ‘the face’. She also has adorable pet dogs, which is always a bonus. She has a softer side too – see her Draw My Life video.

5485153604_953697e312_b

Image credit: Red Carpet Report

4. Jennifer Lawrence. Who doesn’t love J-Law? She’s really famous, but still gets starstruck and says what she thinks.

jessewilliamspublicity

Image credit: jesse-williams.net

5. Jesse Williams. Why not? I could go along and watch them film Grey’s Anatomy. Ooh, maybe I should’ve picked Vettel so I could go to all the Grands Prix…

Do you believe that we’re a product of the people around us?

4 thoughts on “Circle of Five: I wanna be like you-hoo-hoo

  1. michellejoycebond says:

    Yes–and BTW, I also love Jenna Marbles. 🙂 I like how you mentioned Taylor Swift, too–I think that the longer we spend listening to a certain artist’s music, the more their albums become the soundtrack to our lives. Great post!

  2. Am I Thirty? says:

    I love that you put Taylor Swift on the list. I feel like she gets a lot of hate for no reason. I personally love Taylor Swift. I’ve been a fan of hers for years now.

Leave a Comment

