Weekend Coffee Share: Home Edition

If we were having coffee this week, it might take you a little longer to get here. I’m at home! Home in bonnie Scotland, so let’s swap that nasty coffee for Irn-Bru (or whisky). (Fun fact: Scotland is the only country in the world where Coca-Cola is outsold by another soft drink. And Irn-Bru do the best adverts.)

Last week I tweeted that I wanted to go on holiday, and my friend who lives in Bournemouth replied that she wants to go to Rome. Rome is one of the places I am always checking deals for, and on Wednesday we booked it! I am so excited! I leave for Rome exactly one year after listing it as one of the top five places I would love to visit, and amazingly I have also managed to check off New York and the Grand Canyon. I need a new list!

Something to look forward to in April! #Rome #Italy #holiday

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

Now I need to get a move on with learning Italian! I will be testing my Learn Italian in 30 Days book to the max, considering I have only learned the numbers and it is 22 (ventidue!) days until Bologna. Since I will be travelling with an Italian, it isn’t absolutely essential for this trip, but in Rome we’ll be on our own. Plus I realised that I haven’t visited somewhere where I couldn’t understand the language since I was fourteen, and I think I would hate feeling lost in translation!

I have read my two books for March: The First Phone Call from Heaven and Anna and the French Kiss. I like Mitch Albom, but this wasn’t one of my favourites of his. As for the latter, it was so popular on Twitter that I thought I would see what the fuss is about. Sometimes it was sweet, but I’m too cynical to get through a book like that without wanting to vom. Now that I’m home I am picking up the MaddAddam trilogy, which I never got round to reading before. And on World Book Day on Thursday I got more Margaret Atwood in the form of The Handmaid’s Tale. I am expecting great things! Margaret Atwood is the only author that I own four books by that I’ve never read, and that has to be rectified this year.

#WorldBookDay purchases! #books #bookbloggers

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

I also got An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield for a change, since I normally read fiction; The Forever Girl by Alexander McCall-Smith, because I did the start-reading-it test in the shop and wanted to read more; and one of Penguin’s 80 classics for 80p, to celebrate – you guessed it – their 80th anniversary.

There isn’t too much gossip to report this week, but I had Friday off work, a night out with friends, and a weekend back home, so it’s been a good one! Now I have another catch-up to attend.

*

The blog has been growing steadily for a few weeks now, and I think fellow Weekend Coffee Sharers have really helped, so thank you for stopping by and reading and retweeting and so on. I really appreciate it! I will be going through other #WeekendCoffeeShare posts later on!

Featured image credit: George Goodman

12 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Home Edition

  1. I have so many friends that love Margaret Atwood. However, when I tried The Handmaid’s Tale, I couldn’t get through it. I’m not a fan of dystopian lit so I couldn’t really get past the first 60 or so pages.

    Rome will be wonderful! Do you speak any other Romance languages? If you speak French or Spanish, the Italian should be easy to pick up. Also, you can practice by watching movies with the Italian turned on for language if your DVD offers an Italian track. Some do. I would love to go to Italy. Never have. Probably never will. My daughter once spoke of taking a mother-daughter trip to Venice (her favorite European city) for her 30th and my 60th. That’s this year but I don’t see it happening. No money. Plus the biggie is that she has two little ones that there is no one to leave them with and I can’t imagine enjoying that trip with a 5 and 2 year old. I hope your trip is amazing!

    • I have just started The Handmaid’s Tale and I’m going to keep reading for now! I speak French and Spanish, so I can read Italian and understand some of it, I just can’t speak any! I can’t wait for Italy. You should definitely try to get there. However, I don’t think the little ones would appreciate it quite so much!

  2. Hi, lucky you. Rome would be fun in the spring.
    I loved the Handmaids Tale. The movie was horrendous. I read the book in college and found the entire story fascinating. I hope you enjoy it. Atwood was ahead of her time.

    • I think Rome is going to be amazing, and hopefully perfect timing with the weather – nice, but not too hot! I haven’t even seen the film version of The Handmaid’s Tale, so I am looking forward to reading it. I didn’t realise it was dystopian for the longest time, and that’s one of my favourite genres!

  3. I love to get a whole bunch of books I’m excited to read all at once. It’s so much fun. I’ve never read The Forever Girl, but I do like Alexander McCall-Smith. I might have to pick that one up. Thanks for the Irn-Bru. : )

    • Thanks for stopping by! Buying books is like an addiction of mine, but it is so nice to have a whole pile of possible books to read next! I have actually never read any of his series, just Trains and Lovers, but the tone of the opening chapter of The Forever Girl completely hooked me.

    • I haven’t actually read anything by her, which is shocking! I buy her stuff because everyone always says she’s brilliant, so now that I have the MaddAddam trilogy and The Handmaid’s Tale I’m going to read one of them next. The Blind Assassin also sounds interesting!

Leave a Comment

