Weekend Coffee Share: Crazy for Carbonara

Afternoon/evening, weekend coffee sharers! I realise I’ve not been particularly chatty for a couple of weeks now, because things have been at once hectic and not very interesting.

The main thing occupying my attention at the moment is my trip to Bologna – tomorrow. It is unfortunate that the clocks jump forward tonight, but the alarm was always going to be ridiculously early – will my body really be able to tell the difference between four and three a.m.? (Please say no.)

As I have yet to begin the horrendously frustrating game of Tetris that is packing, I shouldn’t really be blogging just now, but when I saw today’s Daily Prompt I thought I’d make a quick contribution:

Tell us about your favorite meal, either to eat or to prepare. Does it just taste great, or does it have other associations?

I have to admit that around 60% of the excitement I’m feeling about this trip to Italy is, frankly, thanks to the food. I cannot wait to be fed free Italian food for the next five days. However, my not-so-secret, slightly bizarre obsession, and the meal I am most looking to, is spaghetti carbonara.

Carbonara

Now, I know for many of you, this is probably a pretty boring meal. For me, someone with seriously simple taste buds, who had opted for burgers and chicken in restaurants up until the age of sixteen, this was the most interesting food choice I had ever made. Having discovered it was good, I then proceeded to eat it in every restaurant possible for the next… well, for the next ten years, because I haven’t gone off it yet.

carbonara1

It is quite strange, because having made this successful choice in trying something new, it could have encouraged me to try that more often. And yet, if carbonara is on the menu, I will choose it 9.9 times out of 10. It is so comforting, so filling and just so good. It is not an exaggeration by any stretch of the imagination to say that I have tried around seventy carbonaras. I am an expert spaghetti-twirler (although given the choice, I prefer it with penne).

carbonara2

Or rigatoni.

 

It’s strange, because I dislike most of the individual elements of the meal, but together they just work. I have never had a bad carbonara, although I remember the shock when I was first presented with one that did not yet have the egg mixed in. I go to restaurants so that I don’t have to make my food! I still can’t make carbonara myself, following a disastrous attempt that nearly put me off eating, never mind the meal, for good.

carbonaraegg

Boo! This is still terrifying.

 

carbonara3

Why on earth do I still take photos of this meal?

 

Despite the many carbonaras I have tried, from Scotland to Spain, France to London to Little Italy, having carbonara in Italy itself has remained on my bucket list.

carbonara5

 

Let’s change that this week, shall we?

Hope you are all having a lovely weekend!

Lauren x

13 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Crazy for Carbonara

  1. Rachael says:

    I understand your love for carbonara, it’s so rich and creamy but salty with the bacon and yum!
    I’m yet to try one better than the one I make, though. Which sounds really bigheaded, but it’s one I took from an Italian family cookbook although I can’t remember which one specifically! I know you’re not meant to put cream in but I think it tastes better!

  2. Amy says:

    Ahh food envy! I think my pasta dish would be in trying to find the best bolognase. I actually had a bolognase burger the other day!! Hope you have a lovely trip and manage to avoid the F1 spoilers. TIP: avoid my Twitter or just Twitter in general 😉

    • wakeupyourluck says:

      Oh my goodness! Until you said that I had forgotten about the GP. I must be shattered! Well I’m in Bologna, so must have bolognese at some point. The burger sounds bizarre, but it could work!

    • wakeupyourluck says:

      Oh you should! It was only because my friend had it once that I thought to try it, but it’s as comforting as macaroni cheese yet it feels a little more grown-up to order it. Of course, I still have mac and cheese often as well…!

      • Diana says:

        haha…I do, too. I have problems with a lot of food textures, so I tend to stay with the same sort of things, though I have branched out a lot over the years.

Leave a Comment

