My Motivational Music

I will be talking about the trip to Bologna soon, but first there’s a mini anniversary to acknowledge: after just over two years, this is the 200th post on Wake Up Your Luck.

This actually turned out to be quite annoying, because I felt like the post should be especially good because it was the 200th. This gave me a serious case of blogger’s block that ended up producing lots of rubbish.

To try to find some inspiration, I ended up listening to music. Realising that these lyrics and songs were so much better than anything I could write, full of good lessons and advice, I thought I would share them with you. These are some of the songs that lift my spirits and help motivate me – maybe they can do the same for you.

Shake It Off – Taylor Swift

Feeling frustrated/angry/bored? Shake it off!

Best line: ‘It’s like I’ve got this music in my mind saying, “It’s gonna be alright!”’

No Worries – McFly

I’ll Be OK might have been a more obvious McFly choice, but No Worries is just so relaxed and reminds us to appreciate the little things. And the McFly boys are adorable, so the video makes me smile anyway.

Best line: ‘It’s times like these we’ll never forget, staying out to watch the sunset. I’m glad I shared this with you.’

Everything I’ll Ever Need – Nashville

This is an adorable clip from the TV show Nashville – even the first few bars make me feel better. It is unashamedly a sugary sweet love song, but somehow it doesn’t make me cringe.

Best lyrics: ‘No more singing them worn-out blues – been singing them way too long! I don’t know what keeps me rolling, but I know what gets me through.’

You Can’t Stop the Beat – Hairspray

This is the only song that ever kept me running for over a minute non-stop. If that’s not motivational, I don’t know what is. More importantly, however, it is a song that not only hopes for a fairer future, it demands it through insistence on this inevitability.

Best lines: ‘You can’t stop today as it comes speeding down the track. Child, yesterday is history, and it’s never coming back.’

Never Let Anyone Steal Your Rock and Roll – Memphis

The feel-good finale of Memphis. Musicals are a fantastic source of motivation.

Best lines: ‘Listen to your soul, listen to your soul. Heed it, you need it. Let it make, let it make you whole.’

For Now – Avenue Q

The best ever way of expressing ‘This too shall pass’. The song points out that good times will soon be over as well as the hard times, so some people might hear the lyrics under the cheery tune and find the message a bit miserable – I love it for its honesty! We should be reminded that life is short and we can’t take good times for granted.

Best line: Every single one! ‘Maybe you’ll never find your purpose – lots of people don’t!’ / ‘Each time you smile, it’ll only last a while. Life may be scary, but it’s only temporary.’

Defying Gravity – Wicked

I originally picked Dancing Through Life, but it describes a similar philosophy to the Avenue Q song, and I could not believe I had forgotten Defying Gravity. This is the most epic example of the best type of rebellion, where Elphaba ‘becomes’ the Wicked Witch of the West and resolves to do what she feels is right, no matter the cost.

Best line: ‘I’m through accepting limits because someone says they’re so; some things I cannot change, but ’til I try I’ll never know.’

Part of Your World – The Little Mermaid

And now a couple of Disney numbers! I understand that the basic storyline here is actually a pretty damaging lesson to teach young children. Nevertheless, this has always been one of my favourite Disney films, so I’ll forgive my adult self’s issues with the plot. Besides, the message of this song surely has universal appeal: who hasn’t, at one point, been able to relate to the desire to be somewhere else?

Best line: ‘Looking around here you’d think, sure, she’s got everything.’ The reprise is even better: ‘I don’t know when, I don’t know how, but I know something starting right now: watch and you’ll see, someday I’ll be part of your world!’

Let It Go – Frozen

Frozen is a great film, but it just might have been as spectacularly successful as it was because of this song. Most of the songs are brilliant, but this is the coming-of-age moment we can all relate to.

Best line: ‘Let the storm rage on – the cold never bothered me anyway.’

Well, I have to say that after listening to this lot and trying to choose my favourite lyrics, I am in a brilliant mood. And a good mood is good for motivation! So what can I achieve in the last few hours of this beautiful bank holiday…?

How about you? Which songs always seem to give you a boost?

 

6 thoughts on “My Motivational Music

  1. michellejoycebond says:

    Lol–I love “Shake it Off,” “Part of Your World,” and despite the boys in my fifth grade class eye-rolling whenever Frozen is mentioned–I absolutely adore “Let it Go”!

Leave a Comment

