Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

Hello! No, I’ve not fallen off the face of the earth. I’ve been a little quiet, not because I haven’t had anything to write about, but because my head is a complete mess!

Since I can’t write anything decent at the moment, this post will be full of amazing writing from other people. I am responding to Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week is a free choice of topic, which is very convenient, because I started writing this before and never posted it. So, without any further ado, here are my…

Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

(A little further ado: part of the reason this took so long is that I love books and beautiful writing, so I had a document full of quotes to whittle down and it was too difficult. Here are ten that are inspiring in the way that they just make me want to burst – with joy, into life, into tears, sometimes all of the above. I have excluded poetry, or it would be impossible.)

Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J. K. Rowling, Bloomsbury

When I read this, almost at the end of the final book of the most incredible series, I just thought, ‘J. K., you genius.’ And started crying.

 ‘Live each day as if it’s your last’, that was the conventional advice, but really, who had the energy for that? What if it rained or you felt a bit glandy? It just wasn’t practical. Better by far to be good and courageous and bold and to make difference. Not change the world exactly, but the bit around you. Go out there with your passion and your electric typewriter and work hard at… something. Change lives through art maybe. Cherish your friends, stay true to your principles, live passionately and fully and well. Experience new things. Love and be loved, if you ever get the chance.

One Day, David Nicholls, Hodder & Stoughton

I thought this was brilliant because I have the same issues with the quotation ‘Live every day as if it were your last’. That’s terrible advice! This is a much better way of expressing the sentiment. If a little less concise…

Wherever you fly, you’ll be best of the best!
Wherever you go, you will top all the rest!

Except when you don’t.
Because, sometimes, you won’t.

Oh, the Places You’ll Go, Dr. Seuss, HarperCollins Children’s Books

And every single other word of this book. I first read it aged 24, and it was like a bolt of lightning. This is my life! He is one of the great children’s authors that is also speaking to adults – this one works for students in particular. It takes the things we tell children, and then tells the truth, yet it’s ultimately entirely uplifting.

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”

“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”

“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.

Winnie-the-Pooh, A. A. Milne

Appreciate the little things! I could have written a Top Ten list just made of quotes from Winnie the Pooh. For a ‘silly old bear’, he is very wise.

The best moments in reading are when you come across something – a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things – that you’d thought special, particular to you. And here it is, set down by someone else, a person you’ve never met, maybe even someone long dead. And it’s as if a hand has come out, and taken yours.

The History Boys, Alan Bennett, Faber & Faber

And this is one of these moments.

I miss her all the time. I know in my head that she has gone. The only difference is that I am getting used to the pain. It’s like discovering a great hole in the ground. To begin with, you forget it’s there and keep falling in. After a while, it’s still there, but you learn to walk round it.

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Rachel Joyce, Doubleday

This was so true that I have never forgotten the image. This book is very sad, but it is about recovery and redemption as much as struggling and suffering.

It’s no use going back to yesterday because I was a different person then.

Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll

I just love this.

Your life will have approximately 30,000 days in it. Make sure you remember some of them.

The Humans, Matt Haig, Canongate

Reading this was like being hit with a hammer. Life really is short – you might have this number of days, this specific number, if you’re lucky. They are countable, they are finite, but you don’t know how many you’ll get. Make them memorable. I would quote the entire chapter ‘Advice to a Human’ if I could, but instead you should just read it.

I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.

The Fault in Our Stars, John Green, Penguin

Well. That’s a bit romantic, isn’t it?

I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough.

The Notebook, Nicholas Sparks, Sphere

This quotation is a celebration of the extraordinary in the seemingly ordinary. It is beautiful!

*

Well, it was a difficult choice, but what do you think? What are your favourites quotes from books?

6 thoughts on “Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

  1. thisthatandtheotherthang says:

    Ack! I LOVE all of these!!!! I actually have a giant chalk board in my room that I write my favorite quotes on. They change from time to time (I’ve had that Harry Potter and TFIOS quote up there before, but I am DEFINITLEY adding some of these other ones to it tonight when I get home!!!

Leave a Comment

