Mix Tape: May 2014-15

Daily Prompt:

Put together a a musical playlist of songs that describe your life, including what you hope your future entails. 

It’s funny that this prompt appeared today. There is a song called Mix Tape in Avenue Q, which I went to see yesterday, and it is a musical from which I could choose several songs to describe my life. The first time I saw it and Princeton sang about being ‘single, unemployed and turning 23’, it was like it had been written just for me! (That’s the beauty of it, of course – everyone can relate.) Now it is only a third true, but for a few years, as a graduate, It Sucks to Be Me just about summed it up!

A year ago, however, I had a…

Party in the USA (Miley Cyrus)

‘Look to my right and I see the Hollywood sign – this is all so crazy!’ When I got home, I knew something had to change and I couldn’t…

Wait (Get Set Go)

‘Wait ‘til you doubt no more, wait ‘til you know you’re sure and you will wait too long, he will be gone.’ The ‘he’ doesn’t need to represent a man. It can be waiting for the perfect timing for anything, which doesn’t exist most of the time. Better to just consider the worst-case scenario, and decide if it’s worth a try anyway!

So I moved to London to start my career. It has its low points:

How You Learn to Live Alone (Nashville)

‘Brick by brick, the letting go, as you walk away from everything you know.’ / ‘It don’t feel right, but it’s not wrong.’ Some days, you just want to go…

Home (Michael Bublé)

‘I’m lucky, I know, but I want to go home.’ / ‘Surrounded by a million people I still feel all alone.’ And it can be hard to find someone in amongst them all…

There’s a Fine, Fine Line (Avenue Q)

‘There’s a fine, fine line between together and not, and there’s a fine, fine line between what you wanted and what you got.’ So I just try to learn and do better…

Next Time (Kacey Musgraves)

Yet as lovely as it would be to have someone, ‘I’ve gotten this far on my own […] and I know I don’t need you.’

So I listen to the song that never fails to calm me down:

Just Breathe (Pearl Jam)

‘I’m a lucky man to count on both hands the ones I love.’ And it reminds me I don’t have to do this all on my own. So I text my friends and we go to amazing places (or even just ordinary ones, because it’s all about the company).

22 (Taylor Swift)

‘We’re happy, free, confused and lonely in the best way. It’s miserable and magical, oh yeah!’ And I thank goodness for them, and my family, and the fact that I can jump on a train to see them if I need to, and the fact that I can see shows and visit interesting places any time I want to, and for getting the job I wanted. And now that I have so much of what I want, sometimes I’m not 100% sure what I’m looking for, but I think it’s something about as simple as…

A Life That’s Good (Nashville)

*

Copyright for these brilliant songs belongs to their respective artists/songwriters, and the videos to the artists/producers or YouTubers who created them.

Leave a Comment

