Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a book meme by The Broke and the Bookish. See the other posts from this week here.

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I was wary of reading this because it was a thriller, and I thought it would freak me out too much. I did read Before I Go To Sleep, though, so this makes no sense. I should really try to read it, considering I work in publishing and it was one of the biggest successes of recent years…

2. 50 Shades of Grey by E. L. James

Speaking of…! Articles which select choice quotes from this text are more than enough to know that I don’t have time for this series. With all the amazing books published every year, it makes me so sad that this is a record-breaker.

3. 1984 by George Orwell

This is exactly my kind of book, and I need to read it. (It’s included here if we mean ‘hyped’ as in ‘talked about, a lot’.) I just haven’t got round to it yet.

4. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Literary novels aren’t really my cup of tea; I don’t like ‘trashy’ books, but definitely more commercial fiction. Besides, it would be too heavy to take with me to read on the train.

5. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

This was one of the set texts for French at university, so it’s both a miracle and not that surprising that I haven’t actually read it. (I got distracted by Baudelaire, it’s not like I didn’t read anything.)

6. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

I have heard good things about this book. I just can’t get past the blurb; it doesn’t entice me to read the book one little bit.

7. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin

Big, heavy books + hundreds of characters + not being that bothered about them as it’s just the story of how they all die anyway = I will just read plot summaries online if I need to know what people are talking about when it comes to the TV show.

8. The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

I have so much admiration for J. K. Rowling, and Harry Potter is one of my favourite things on the planet. However, this book sounds so miserable – and the little I watched of the TV show confirmed it – that I can’t bring myself to read it.

9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I tried to read this and didn’t get into it at the time, but I have since put it back on the ‘to be read’ list following glowing reviews.

10. Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

I have also started this book, I’ve just been on chapter two for a while… I’ll finish it eventually!

*

Thinking about this list made me realise how many classics and popular authors I have yet to read: Stephen King, Charles Dickens,  Catch-22, Frankenstein… then again, I am not sure we will ever feel like we have read enough.

What would be on your list?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. thisthatandtheotherthang says:

    Oooooh I love this idea, girl! I would say that of those on your list to read, 1984, The Book Thief and The Goldfinch would be my picks! I loved all three of them and think they are definitely worth picking up 🙂

    Couldn’t agree more with you on 50 Shades. I tried but the subject matter aside, the writing was just.so. awful!! And I wanted to like The Casual Vacancy, I really did (because J.K. is my girl), but I just couldn’t get past the first two chapters. Not my cup of tea.

  2. littlealmond says:

    I haven’t read any of these either, although 3, 5, 9, and 10 are on my someday to-read list. I started Frankenstein awhile ago without getting very far and I flipped through “Madame Bovary” once while I was at work at a library. Jodi Picoult, John Grisham, James Patterson, and Stephanie Meyer are writers I haven’t read anything by. Well, maybe a couple stray chapters. The title “The Casual Vacancy” appeals to me, but I never heard much in its favor.
    I feel like I can’t consider myself well-read until I’ve read at least one novel by George Eliot and one by Anthony Trollope.

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      I have read a couple of books by Jodi Picoult, and think she is very talented, but I don’t buy everything she writes. There are so many authors to try! I haven’t read John Grisham or James Patterson either. (I did read Twilight *ahem*.)

      I should really add Middlemarch to the TBR list…

  3. Victoria says:

    I’ve only read one of those – The Book Thief. You say you couldn’t get into it, and neither could I at first – the beginning is really slow. But about halfway through I was obsessed, and stayed up until 5 am to finish it. It’s the first book I’ve ever properly cried over.

    And I’m in the middle of Catch 22 – it’s so funny but I keep getting distracted by other books!

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      That sounds like a good endorsement to me – I will persevere with The Book Thief!

      I have a strange thing with classics, which is that I know they will always be there, so I feel far less urgency to read them than I do with new books. Potentially the hype around new books means I want to be able to participate in any chat about them!

  4. Erika says:

    1984 is a great book so I definitely recommend. Catch-22 I wasn’t much of a fan. I tried reading it so many times I just couldn’t get into it. I have yet to read The Book Thief as well.

  5. callalilycalla says:

    My sister bought me about 7 classics for Christmas last year and I still haven’t gotten around to reading any of them except one, which is number 10 on your list 🙂 (By the way, you don’t need to read much more than chapter two to understand the gist of that book, it’s pretty much just Holden Caulfield’s life story…)
    You definitely should read Book Thief though, you won’t regret it!

Leave a Comment

