Always Something There to Remind Me

Music is really important to me, and I listen to it a lot. We all do these days – shopping to a backing track of some chart song; working out to some trash at the gym; not-really-listening to whatever comes through our headphones on the way to work. Our lives have a pretty constant soundtrack. For me, though, I am happy to go for a walk just to listen to music, or relax in my room doing nothing but listening to my favourite songs – and singing along, occasionally most of the time.

Some music means more than others – the songs that we listen to when we’re nursing a broken heart, or the songs that were playing when we felt our happiest. On other occasions, though, some of the songs that hold memories are slightly more surprising…

Mr Blobby takes me back to jumping on the sofa with my sister when we were three and four years old in the front room at the old, old house.

Whatever You Want by Status Quo will always bring to mind those terrible Argos adverts. Or extremely good adverts, considering I remember them all these years later. Speaking of…

Magic Moments makes me think of chocolate (the Quality Street advert, obviously).

The Chain by Fleetwood Mac. What else is this going to remind me of?

All the Small Things by Blink 182 reminds me of a school talent show in primary seven, and the boy I fancied for about ten years.

Obviously by McFly. I was so annoyed that I was going to be on holiday when this video premiered that my awesome friend taped it for me!

Hear You Me by Jimmy Eat World. This is an emotional one for me, and many people from my school, I think. When a boy in our year died, a girl sang this at his funeral. Whenever I hear ‘A song for a heart so big/God wouldn’t let it live’, I hear her voice crack when she couldn’t finish the line.

Blame It On the Weatherman by Bewitched. It might seem random, but this reminds me of my gran. She died just before Christmas at the millennium, and had already bought me this CD. Whenever this song comes on my iPod, I think of her.

Hiding My Heart by Adele/Brandi Carlile reminds me of a boy. And saying goodbye to Paris.

Sleeping With the Light On by Busted. On the first McBusted tour, the whole arena lit up and sang along to this. It was an amazing moment.

Edge of Glory by Lady Gaga takes me back to final year of university, and getting ready for nights out with one of my best friends who I was living with at the time.

Kiss You by One Direction reminds me of days in the shop at my old job. We listened to too much 1D and had an awesome time.

The Wobble only seemed to exist when I did Trek America. In a way, it’s good that the song never made it over here, as I so strongly associate with that amazing trip that I don’t want it leaking into the rest of my life! The boys also played Africa by Toto at least once every two days, and Anthony did an excellent rendition of Since You Been Gone by Kelly Clarkson.

Waka Waka (This Time for Africa) by Shakira = Zumba.

90% of Taylor Swift’s songs remind me of something or someone – not always a man! Everyone can relate to a Taylor Swift song. That is scientific fact. (OK, it’s not yet scientific, but I know it is true.)

There are other songs that don’t evoke particular memories, but the memory of how I felt when listening to them before. That is why Landslide and Just Breathe calm me down, Bitch makes me feel like I own it, and All About Tonight and Shake It Off make me want to dance!

I could go on and on for days, taking you through my entire music history, but let’s leave it there for now. I might feel the necessity to do a Part II when I realise all the great songs I missed!

Which songs bring back memories for you?

4 thoughts on “Always Something There to Remind Me

  1. Amy says:

    R Kelly – I Believe I can Fly – unfortunately there is a video of me standing on the settee in our old house pretending I can fly. Highly embarrassing!

    Men at Work – Land Down Under – Funnily enough reminds me of Coral Bay, Australia as that was when I first heard the song!

    Lady Gaga – Poker Face – Walking into a big clothes store in Sydney and hearing this song and wondering who it was as I kept hearing it everywhere.

    The entire Twiilight soundtrack from the first film – Living in Sydney. My roommate and I would play Robert Pattinson’s Signs from this over and over really loud and I would listen to the whole cd on my ipod to and from work each day. Happy times 🙂

    xx

  2. S. Robert Cyre says:

    I guess there is this little piano ditty called Plasir D’Amour I remember from when I was in high school. I did just about everything a guy can do to be uncool, including listening to easy listening piano instrumentals by Frank Mills instead of “Who Can It Be Now?” by Men At Work. Anyway, the song reminded me of a girl I really liked and wanted to spend more time with, but I was so overcome by fear and anti-social behavior, nothing ever came of it. So, the song really sucks, but I can’t help but like it. Weird, I know.

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      It is funny how things we associate with certain people we can become quite fond of, even if we don’t like it/no longer like it ourselves! One guy I dated was something of a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio (more than me, certainly), so I’m often reminded of that when one’s on TV!

Leave a Comment

