I think I might like pizza

Weekend Coffee Share is a feature by Part-Time Monster. Follow on Twitter using the hashtag #WeekendCoffeeShare or visit her blog for the link-up.

It’s been a while since we’ve caught up, Weekend Coffee Sharers! Things have been the perfect level of busy for a few months now. So what’s been going on?

Well, if we were having coffee, I would confess the following unbelievable truth:

I think I like pizza.

I get that for most of you this is a bizarre statement, one that you would never have considered needed to be said, because apparently there are only about five people on planet earth who do not like pizza. For my whole life, I have been one of them. Pizza was right at the top of my ‘Things other people like that actually suck’ list. (Look out for a post on that at some point.) I’m the one who made countless takeaways awkward. I despised Pizza Hut and Pizza Express. At some point over the past year, though, I’ve found myself either having to eat it in certain social situations (and because I was really hungry in said situations) or just being curious to try it again. And now it seems there are only four people on the planet who don’t like pizza.

Pizzetta! #food #foodbloggers #London #lbloggers #partylikeitsfifty9

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

(Honestly, I’m not sure how many more changes to my core being I can deal with this year. First I join a gym; now I like pizza. I don’t even know who I am anymore!)

If we were having coffee, I would also give you some mini updates on how my 15 goals in 2015 are going. I’d tell you about some of the new places I’ve visited, including Vinopolis, the Ice Bar and Street Feast, many of which I still need to write up. I am getting to go to some new bars and restaurants through blogger events, which I’m really enjoying. I’ve met a few really great people this way, so I think it’s going to be the best way to make new friends in London.

However, I also had the chance to wander around Cambridge yesterday, which was a lovely day trip within reach of London that I think I’ll be tempted to make again. My friend was having a housewarming party, as she’s just moved in with her boyfriend, so I went through early to take photos and see some of the university buildings beforehand. Next up, Oxford!

Cambridge. #travel #weekend #tourist #arch #pretty

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

downingcollege

downingcollege1

I would go on and on about the books I’ve been reading, but I did that a few days ago here!

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I’ve finally signed up for Italian classes! My course is from September to December, which will help me communicate better on our work trips to Bologna. My proper attempt at German is probably going to have to wait until next year, but with preparation for the Frankfurt Book Fair in October already underway, I might have to add a ‘Learn German in 30 Days’ book to my languages collection.

Next Saturday, we are hosting a massive barbecue for seemingly half of London. (Any London-based friends, if I haven’t mentioned it already, please come along!) The weekend after that, my friend is visiting, and we have the Harry Potter studios and afternoon tea pencilled in. It seems like things aren’t going to get any quieter for the foreseeable future, but I think I quite like it this way!

12 thoughts on “I think I might like pizza

  1. Corina says:

    Although I do like pizza, I prefer not to have it as my meal because it seems like when I do I am hungry again in just a half hour. I do like vegetarian pizza with tons and tons of veggies on it when I do eat pizza.

  2. eclecticalli says:

    You know, I didn’t like pizza for a while (up into elementary school I think). Now I love it, but there are some places that I just can’t stand… it has to be GOOD pizza for me to like it.

  3. somemaid says:

    I spent much of my childhood and early adulthood (really until I got married) not liking pancakes. Then I tried one on holiday in France and haven’t looked back. Have you tried making your own pizza? Much nicer than the Pizza Hut ones, although a tad more labour intensive.

  4. Charlene Moore (@tartanmouth) says:

    It sounds like you’re super busy, Lauren, but with plenty of cool things! I am super jealous about the Harry Potter studio tour – I’ve been twice already but that wouldn’t stop me from going back. It’s so much fun (also the gift shop, hubba hubba!).

    Oh, and, I still think pizza is pretty overrated – I like it but I’m so much more of a pasta girl if I’m eating Italian.

    x

  5. Amy says:

    I used to be the same with burgers. Up until the age of 21 I think I had only eaten two burgers in my life, in situations, like you said, I felt obliged. But apparently moving to Australia turned me into a beef monster lol!

    As much as I have a dislike thing for London it does seem to to keep everyone there very busy with lots of cool events!

    Amy x

Leave a Comment

