What makes your house a home?

What are five things that make your house a home?

Oh, this Daily Prompt could make me a bit homesick! There are some good things about the house I live in at the moment, but home for me is still in Scotland. Aside from the people in both cases, what are the main things that make each homely?

Home home, i.e. my parents’ house

Charlie. A house is not a home without a dog, so they say, and Charlie is the major difference between living with my parents and then living out. My own rented flats will likely never have an adorable, overgrown pup waiting at the door, always pleased to see me!

'Did you want a slipper?' #dogs #dogsofinstagram #cute

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

 

Pooh Bear. It pains me slightly to have left my teddy bear behind. (Yes, I know what age I am.) I’ve had him since I was a year old, and would always take him to new flats and so on, but I waited to bring him with me to London (in case the house was a bit dirty, which it is) and there hasn’t been enough space in my case to bring him back yet.

My childhood stuff. When my parents moved from the house we lived in for twenty years to a flat, it meant some serious downsizing. After going through every single one of my possessions, I pretty much distilled the essence of my childhood into what would fit in a fitted wardrobe. It means what is left is important, and that wardrobe is full of memories!

I have missed playing music so much! #keyboard #music #calming #hobby #lbloggers

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

 

My keyboard. The keyboard is a difficult instrument to transport, and so I rarely do it. However, playing the keyboard was one of my main hobbies growing up. I learned a lot, I sat exams, it made me feel like I was achieving something, and it calmed me down. Even on my shortest visits home, I make time for it.

Books. I have a brilliant collection of books, if I say so myself, but again, it’s difficult to move them around. I like getting home and picking something off the shelves that I still haven’t read yet.

There's no place like home.

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

*

My house now

Books! I have accumulated around sixty books since moving here almost a year ago (I didn’t realise how shocking that was until I quickly counted them just now!) although some of them were through work or work experience, so it’s not so bad! I will always quickly establish a new collection of books.

Daft clutter. I love clutter, and have way too much of it at home, but it’s not the sort of thing you think to move. Here, I’ve collected a ‘lucky cat’, which is supposed to bring wealth; a happiness jar, where I can write down good things and keep them for the end of the year; a mask from the British museum; a diffuser, because I am a proper adult now; and two cushions.

[One is a raccoon. In glasses. Still an adult.]

 

Painting of Edinburgh. My friend got me a pretty canvas of Edinburgh as a housewarming present, and I love it. It’s really pretty, brightens up a bit of a drab room, and reminds me of home.

Pygmy puff. My sister got me a pygmy puff just before I moved to London and I thought it was hilarious, so I brought it to test the water for Pooh bear.

My desk. The best thing about this house by far is the desk. I don’t have a desk at home, as my room is too small, so this is a luxury! It’s a big desk, right in front of the window that looks over the garden and gets the sun all morning. One of the best places in this big, bad city!

By far my favourite thing about my room in London is having a desk by a window. #sunshine

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

*

How about you?

4 thoughts on “What makes your house a home?

  1. thisthatandtheotherthang says:

    Love this post! I truly believe there is a huge difference between a house and a home. A house is the physical space, but to make it a home, you’ve got to fill it with memories, with objects and knickknacks and people that fill your space with warmth and love. Some of the things I have that make my current house a home include the blanket my grandmother gave me, my ridiculous [ly] amazing book collection, and my photos.

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      Exactly! I think people often underestimate the importance of these things. (Either that, or I place too much value on them!) For me, though, these are the bits and pieces that make up your life, so your home is like an extension of yourself. When we have to leave them behind, no wonder we get homesick and start collecting again!

Leave a Comment

