Top ten books on my TBR list this autumn

Here are ten of the books I would love to read before the end of the year:

The Lake House, Kate Morton

I am very excited that Kate Morton finally has a new novel coming out. It could be easy with her style of books to become very formulaic, and the last one I read was the first one where I worked out the ending in advance, but I still can’t wait to see what this is like.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here, Patrick Ness

This just sounds hilarious, yet it also deals with sensitive issues. This is a book written from the POV of the sort of character who doesn’t often get to be the protagonist – the one who isn’t the ‘hero’ of the story. I heard an extract from it at a Patrick Ness event and have wanted to read more ever since.

Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood

I have started the MaddAddam trilogy a couple of times now, but need to properly give it a try as I’ve heard good things. Although her new novel, The Heart Goes Last is published soon, and it sounds like another brilliant dystopia.

Aussie Grit: My Formula One Journey, Mark Webber

I don’t read autobiographies very often, because for some reason I tend to find fictional characters more interesting than real people…! Nevertheless, Mark Webber was one of the most straight-talking Formula 1 drivers, so I think this tell-all book could be very interesting for a fan of the sport.

The A to Z of You and Me, James Hannah

I started this and liked the concept, I just got distracted. The narrator seems to reveal the story of a relationship little by little, telling stories from prompts beginning with A, B, C and so on.

Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas

I have heard so many people talking about this at the moment, and I don’t know how I’ve managed to miss the boat. I’m not sure if teenagers are more the target audience, but that’s never put me off plenty of great books!

A Place Called Winter, Patrick Gale

I read one of Gale’s novels before based on reviews and didn’t quite see what the hype was about. This one has received a lot of positive attention, so it is either worth a try or he has a very good publicist.

A Tale for the Time Being, Ruth Ozeki

I really want to finish this. It’s another one I started, and I was quite enjoying it, but again got distracted by another book.

The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, Jonas Jonasson

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared was so entertaining, and the first chapter of this was too. I just moved to London before reading more and keep forgetting to bring it back with me!

All the books by Robin Hobb

The reason all these books are still on my TBR list is I’ve become addicted to Robin Hobb’s books. I would happily sit and read one after the other, but I don’t want to run out too soon. After finishing Assassin’s Quest, which I’m reading at the moment, I will be finished the Farseer trilogy, so I should probably take a break from them then!

*

Have you read any of these? Which would you recommend first?

4 thoughts on “Top ten books on my TBR list this autumn

Leave a Comment

