What does your blog say about you?

You would think your blog, particularly a personal one like mine, would say quite a lot about you. And yet, I couldn’t immediately think of the answer.

So let’s deal with the elements of it: the title ‘Wake Up Your Luck’ is positive, and I like it. However, sometimes, it is entirely at odds with who I am. As I’ve said before, sometimes I feel like two completely different people in one body. There are times when I think I’m a total optimist, then there are people who tell me I’m pessimistic. I don’t think that’s true at all. More likely I’m being realistic in the face of their desire to believe that everything is rainbows and sunshine (and that is not me being pessimistic)!

Anyway, the title is also an imperative, suggesting you should go out and make your own luck. Yet this is a saying I both agree with and don’t. I believe that we can increase our chances of getting what we want, and I think there is so much to be gained from getting out of our comfort zone – it just might not be exactly what you expect. The issue I have with the idea of making your own luck is that it is, quite frankly, irrational. There are far too many external circumstances at work for you to control everything. That’s why, when things go right for me, I always feel grateful, and – yes – lucky.

So, although I like my blog’s name, and it goes very well with going after goals, I don’t always agree with it…

The blog began as a way to track the progress of one year’s resolutions, but it has grown from there. The content must reveal a lot about me, because it’s basically all about me. I don’t have a niche; it’s not a beauty blog or a fashion blog. It’s about what I want to achieve, the things I like, places I go and things I’ve seen.

My love of books comes out in Top Ten Tuesdays or reviews, but it is strange that, given how important books are to me in real life, they don’t appear too often on my blog.

When it comes to travel and tourism, you can find a lot about my favourite places, although I cannot believe I have not written more about my trip around the States. One day I will get around to writing about it all!

The quotations section is probably quite revealing; it’s funny how a few choice sentences can tell you a lot about what is important to a person. You can see what has affected them or motivated them.

The ‘Happiness is…’ section is a big insight into this blogger, as it’s where I go on and on about things I love.

As far as content goes, I do focus on the positive, so it’s never going to be a full reflection of a whole person. It isn’t an attempt to sugar-coat my life or to show off, it’s just that this is what I enjoy writing about, and what I am keen to look back on and remember. There is sometimes criticism of this aspect of social media, but for me this blog is a highlights reel. When things affect me in a negative way, it’s something I’d usually rather process privately, so there is a slight element of self-censorship in what I post.

I do speak quite openly, but not on the level that I would speak to my best friends – I don’t know about you, but unless your blog is anonymous, this is probably a good thing!

On a superficial level, I’ve never been 100% happy with the design of my blog, which is a large part of the initial impression it will make on other people. I picked this theme because it looked strong. I would quite like to have something pretty, but I was aiming for ‘bold’ at the time and the capital letters and dark colours felt right. In this way, the design was me aspiring to something, not entirely ‘else’ – more a specific side of myself. I do swap the image behind the title. At the moment, the sunshine is in complete contrast with the black of the title, but I like that.

I suppose when I stop to think about it, the blog is full of contrasts, and perhaps that’s what makes it a fair reflection of me as well.

*

One for the fellow bloggers: what does your blog say about you?

2 thoughts on “What does your blog say about you?

  1. This is a really great idea for a post and must have you analyse yourself. I agree with what you say about it being positive. I do want mine to be reality and therefore showing warts and all and I do try to show that. But some stuff I just don’t feel comfortable sharing. I wouldn’t mind sharing it with bloggers I know and even readers I don’t but I don’t think i’d know when to stop sharing and seeing as i’m not very good with talking about my feelings IRL it wouldn’t feel right doing it online when I don’t even share openly with friends and family. xx

Leave a Comment

