Weekend Coffee Share: Frankfurt and Freebies

Weekend Coffee Share is a feature hosted by Part-Time Monster, and you can read this week’s posts in the link-up here.

If we were having coffee – well, we wouldn’t be having coffee this week, because I have been broken by a book fair. This week was the biggest event on our publishing calendar – the Frankfurt Book Fair – and it was the first time I had been.

Frankfurt yellow building

My alarm went off at four a.m. on Tuesday morning, and that level of tiredness almost set the level for the week – almost, but it’s not quite as exhausted as I am just now. In fact, I’m having slight trouble stringing sentences together, so this is going to be a really short post!

We got up so early so we could take the train to Frankfurt in time to set up. The journey wasn’t so bad, because I like to avoid flying if possible. It also meant we got a quick pit stop in Brussels, and on the way back there was time for dinner and buying some Belgian chocolate.

Days at the fair are fairly long, from 8.30 a.m. until 6 p.m. No one seems to schedule time for things like lunch. Trips to the loo – when you can get them – are practically the only time you will have to yourself for the whole trip. Everyone survives on caffeine, but I don’t drink tea or coffee, so I was running on a couple of Mars bars throughout the day.

We definitely ate enough though – breakfast was included at the hotel, and we went for a lot of nice dinners. I’ll write a more detailed post about the restaurants, since I definitely achieved my ‘Eat a greater variety of food’ goal, and the hotel – I can check ‘Stay in a five-star hotel’ off the bucket list!

I got back at 11 p.m. last night, and, following the book fair, it’s entirely acceptable to spend the whole day in bed. However, my friend won VIP tickets to Stylist Live, so I tagged along with her today. I’m very glad I did, too, because it was actually really fun and we got a load of freebies. What a brilliant week of not paying for stuff…!

Stylist goodie bag

OK, I’m shattered, so I’m off to lie on the sofa, watch X Factor, and make my way through some of this chocolate. Hope you’ve all had a great week!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Frankfurt and Freebies

  1. Nooce Miller says:

    Wow, the Frankfurt Book Fair sounds like it was a big event! Were you there as an author? (Forgive me if the answer to this question is obvious to everyone else, but I’ve never visited your blog before). And my quick search shows Stylist is a magazine, and Stylist Live involved a catwalk, celebrities, and more! Did you see any clothes you’d love to wear?

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      It was! No problem, I work for a publisher – would love to write a book at some point but I’m still to find my big idea. Stylist Live was great! I’m not that into fashion, although there were a few brilliant outfits, but a lot of the mini events and speeches were really interesting!

Leave a Comment

