On being sociable

Oh, the blog has gone rather quiet over the past month or so! It’s not that I don’t have anything to write about, quite the opposite. Things have been so busy, but when I get a minute to sit down I’ve got a bit of writer’s block. I think I’m just tired of talking!

Plus, the longer I leave it to write a new post, the better I feel it has to be. That’s an extra pressure, so I’ve decided, ‘Whatever, I’ll post about not being able to post’, and I’m going with this. The writing of it is squished the last minutes of lunch, the minutes before Italian, the five-minute train delay, but I promise to come up with something better soon!

Last week I had something on every day – even Sunday evening, and Sunday evening is normally near sacred me-time (ahem, watching-X-Factor time). It’s not that going out was a chore – I went to see Showstopper! and it was amazing, as ever – it’s just that I don’t have time to iron my clothes!

Now there’s another week where spare time has been quickly allocated to Italian, a blogger event, catching up with friends and Halloween. And it is great to be doing so much, but I think I’m nearing the limit. At lunch, I found myself debating how much I really wanted food today, because I knew that if I went to the supermarket there is a cashier who always tries to talk to me, and I didn’t want to interact with anyone. (In the end, food won out, of course.)

I know that when I was a kid, I was bordering on antisocial. I could literally have spent every minute of the summer holidays indoors, reading, and I did actually do this for a large percentage of time – as much as I could get away with before my mum made me, shock horror, go outside.

Now, I notice if my housemate is away and I maybe spend the weekend alone then I do start to crave company. And I didn’t want to miss any of the events of the past month. Nevertheless, I should remember to have at least one evening at home each week, if only to have clean clothes ready for the rest of the time…!

I would say that next week might be calmer, but there’s a big work meeting, a trip home and the catching up that entails, and hopefully celebrating an important day with my little sister. In fact, all the weekends in November are booked up with either trips home or people visiting. Perhaps a quiet December?

4 thoughts on “On being sociable

  1. I’m exactly like this! Any time when I’ve had too many social events happening close together, I find that in the end, all I want to do is just go home and curl up on the sofa in my pyjamas with a good book.

Leave a Comment

