Weekend Coffee Share: The most wonderful time of the year

Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part-Time Monster, and you can read posts by the other bloggers taking part in the link-up here.

By the most wonderful time of the year, I do, of course, mean that it is the X Factor final tonight.

Just kidding (although I’m totally watching it), what I mean is it’s December and I love December.

So, if we were having coffee, I’d say that despite the fact it’s blowing a gale outside and we rarely see the daylight for these winter months, and I’m nursing a slight(ly awful) hangover after the work Christmas party yesterday, I’m still in a good mood.

I would tell you that I’m getting into the Christmas spirit after our departmental Christmas dinner and the work do. I also made my first trip to Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park, and it turns out that straight after work at five is a good time to go, because it was getting a lot busier when we left around half seven. We got a drink at the Carousel bar (a rotating bar on a converted carousel) and tried to win 2kg of Toblerone (and failed, sadly).

Winter Wonderland gold

Winter Wonderland arches

I also went to a showing of White Christmas at the Phoenix Artist Club. It is such a lovely film. (I had completely forgotten everything about it except the song ‘Sisters’, because our mum used to sing that to my sister and I all the time.) The other Christmas films to be watched in the next two weeks are It’s a Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th Street, Jack Frost and The Holiday. (We were only two days into December before we put Love Actually on.)

Ready to watch White Christmas! #London #lbloggers #musical #movie #Christmas

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

If we were having coffee, I would be excited that there are only five working days before I go home for Christmas! Much as I love my job, I am excited for two weeks off to spend relaxing with family and friends.

The only slight issue with it being only thirteen days until Christmas is that I really need to buy presents! It’s not for lack of trying – I have spent a lot of time online shopping and found plenty of things that I would like to gift to myself, but that’s really not the point, is it?

I would tell you that I have been having a think about next year’s goals (16 for 2016!) and I would ask you if you are making any resolutions or plans. (Let me know in the comments if you are – I’d quite like to do a post with everyone else’s goals for next year.)

Anyway, I’m away just now, but I hope you’re having a lovely December and that you have plenty to look forward to!

Lauren x

16 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: The most wonderful time of the year

  1. K. Renae P. says:

    Love your pictures! I’m so glad we are in the same boat as far as present buying is concerned. I’m trying to make up for it right now.

    And ‘Love Actually’ is usually the first Christmas movie I watch at the beginning of the Christmas season. I love the movie!

  2. Diana says:

    Oh, those lights in Hyde Park look so lovely!

    I have only just starting thinking about goals for the new year, so not sure what they’ll be yet!! I suppose my first will just be to remember to write 2016 instead of 2015. 😉

  3. herheadache says:

    I do have goals, but I don’t always like to list them. I like to say my biggest goal is just to keep putting myself out there, take chances, and keep moving forward.
    Happy Holidays to you.

Leave a Comment

