Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This is probably a little late for Santa, who is definitely more organised than this, but here goes! Ten books I would like for Christmas:

After You by Jojo Moyes

I’m not sure how she’s going to follow Me Before You, but I’d like to find out!

The Lake House by Kate Morton

Kate Morton’s generation-spanning mysteries are some of my favourite novels, and I’ve been waiting three years for this one!

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood + dystopia = of course I want to read this.

All the books by Robin Hobb

I have read the first three, now I need to read the rest! Although it would probably take me a whole year…

The Radleys by Matt Haig

I loved The Humans, Echo Boy and A Boy Called Christmas, so perhaps it’s simply Matt Haig’s writing that I love.

The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

I think I’ve read all of Cecelia Ahern’s books, and although I was disappointed by How to Fall in Love, I’d still like to see what this one is like. Just realised I also missed The Year I Met You, so Santa can always substitute!

The Fox and the Star by Coralie Bickford-Smith

Despite being unconvinced by the binding the first time I saw this (publishing geek), it is beautiful, and if it’s Waterstones Book of the Year then it can’t be bad!

Collected Poems by Carol Ann Duffy

I need some new poetry, and I know she is brilliant. The World’s Wife was genius.

Listography journal by Nola Russell

OK, this is kind of cheating because it is a notebook, but I really love lists.

Illustrated Harry

© Bloomsbury (2015)

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay

Because apparently three gorgeous editions of Philosopher’s Stone aren’t enough.

*

How about you?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

  1. SDCB Steph says:

    This is a great list! I would like to read The Lakehouse. It’s nice to see a poetry book listed. I am not familiar with that one, so I will be sure to look it up. I am kind of out of the loop entirely when it comes to poetry. I haven’t read it since I was in school and am rediscovering it as of late. Merry Christmas.

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      I have always had a soft spot for poetry, although I’m not sure where it came from! I think Carol Ann Duffy’s The World’s Wife is quite accessible even for those who aren’t massively into poetry. Thank you for stopping by, and merry Christmas to you too!

  2. thebookdisciple says:

    Margaret Atwood’s books are always mind blowing! Her books make me feel so many things and often, its uncomfortable (in a good way, you know?). I still get chills thinking about The Handmaiden’s tale…. My TTT

Leave a Comment

