50 Happy Things

2015 has been an incredible year for me. A lot of little things (and big things) started to fall into place, and I have been very lucky.

Dawn at Tales from the Motherland is hosting a link-up for bloggers to share fifty things that made them happy or grateful this year, and I was keen to take part. I think even if we’ve had a really difficult year, it can be good for us to take some time to think about everything that was good.

You can only write for ten minutes – find out how you can join in too at the end of the post – so the list might seem a little random as my mind went from one place to the other, but this is what made 2015 special for me.

 

50 Happy Things

Home for Christmas! #homesweethome #family #Christmas #holidays #tree

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

  1. Getting to spend Christmas with my family.
  2. My family in general.
  3. My sister got the job she wanted.
  4. My gran, after giving us a fright this year, got out of hospital a couple of months ago. We’ll go round to hers tonight.
  5. My housemate is one of my best friends, and has made the move to London a lot easier than it might have been.
  6. I am so grateful to have a brilliant group of friends in London.
  7. I have an adorable, thoughtful boyfriend who makes me laugh a lot.
  8. I love my job.
  9. I get to travel for work.
  10. Chocolate.
Afternoon Tea, BB Bakery

Afternoon tea at BB Bakery

  1. I’m grateful that so many friends came to visit me this year.
  2. Bottomless champagne brunch was amazing.
  3. Afternoon tea at BB Bakery.
  4. Visiting the Harry Potter studio tour (twice).
  5. I love having the West End shows on my doorstep.
  6. I love each and every one of the many, many shows I went to see, including first trips to Miss Saigon, Memphis and Bend It Like Beckham.
  7. My lovely friends treated me to a show (The Book of Mormon) for my birthday.
  8. I also loved going to see Wicked with them – ‘feeling much friendship’!
  9. I love having friends who are up for exploring all the weird and wonderful things London has to offer.
  10. Feeling like I’m making the most of living here. (I might be starting to like London again.)
cheeseboard

Blogger party, Fifty9

  1. Visiting Cambridge for my friend’s flat-warming, and the fact that she is feeling much better this year.
  2. I had the chance to visit Rome and it was incredible.
  3. I had a week off in June to spend at home.
  4. I got to see Taylor Swift in concert.
  5. My parents came to visit me in London for the first time.
  6. My sister came to visit twice and we saw a ridiculous amount of shows.
  7. I’m glad my man also likes shows.
  8. I bought some brilliant clothes.
  9. My landlord cleaned the mould in the wardrobe because I was scared of the spiders also living in there. (!)
  10. The feeling of stepping off the train at Edinburgh Waverley after a few months – the feeling of coming back home.
Bologna stairs

Bologna

  1. The irrational joy at hearing another Scottish accent in London.
  2. When people are nice to each other on the trains/tube.
  3. Cute videos of this ilk. And cute animal videos.
  4. Cocktails at Madison rooftop bar. Or any cocktails with friends on a sunny, summery evening!
  5. Dinner in a restaurant on the Thames, and the amazing lasagne.
  6. Being able to relax after coming home from work, because I can leave my work at the office.
  7. Sunny Sunday mornings at my desk.
  8. The fact I have a desk.
  9. Blogging, and the fact that you’re reading what I have to say!
  10. The odd weekend day spent lounging in front of the TV.
St Paul's

St Paul’s

  1. Pitch Perfect 2 and Magic Mike XXL. (They were two of the few films I saw at the cinema, OK?)
  2. Discovering Margaret Atwood.
  3. Reading so many great fantasy novels.
  4. The time I get on the train to read.
  5. My Christmas bonus.
  6. Going to blogger events.
  7. St Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican City was stunning.
  8. I see St Paul’s nearly every day, and it is beautiful.
  9. Winning afternoon tea, a dress, and tickets to a comedy night.
  10. Watching White Christmas, and rediscovering how comforting it is when Bing Crosby sings White Christmas.

Ready to watch White Christmas! #London #lbloggers #musical #movie #Christmas

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

  1. Catching up with old friends.
  2. Making amends.
  3. Getting to know my colleagues better.
  4. My first full year in publishing completed.
  5. The gorgeous handbag that was my congratulations to myself for getting my job.
  6. My suggested charity being chosen for fundraising – we raised over £2000.
  7. Learning to speak a little Italian.
  8. Zumba!
  9. Meeting Mark Webber.
  10. Vettel having a good first season at Ferrari.
  11. Covent Garden is lovely.
  12. So is Greenwich. (And taking the clipper there!)
  13. Cosy nights watching films.
  14. Christmas parties.
  15. The first Christmas dinner I (co-)cooked.
  16. Christmas jumpers.
  17. Thinking about all these happy things!

OK, so I ran over! Many of the points have similar sentiments – the people in my life make me happy, and I love shows and getting to know new places. Could you tell? Essentially, I’m grateful to have had a year that was focused on my favourite things!

I hope you have a Merry Christmas, or simply a lovely holiday season, whatever you might celebrate. May you also have lots of happy things to remember about 2015!

To take part:

If you’d like to join in, here’s how it works: set a timer for 10 minutes; timing this is critical. Once you start the timer, start your list (the timer doesn’t matter for filling in the instructions, intro, etc). The goal is to write 50 things that made you happy in 2015, or 50 things that you feel grateful for. The idea is to not think too hard; write what comes to mind in the time allotted. When the timer’s done, stop writing. If you haven’t written 50 things, that’s ok. If you have more than 50 things and still have time, keep writing; you can’t feel too happy or too grateful! When I finished my list, I took a few extra minutes to add links and photos.

When you write your post, add it to the link-up at the very bottom of this post on Dawn’s blog. Please note: the InLinkz will expire on January 15, 2015.

4 thoughts on “50 Happy Things

  1. Pingback: 15 in 2015: Results | Wake Up Your Luck

  2. Woot, woot! You can’t have too much gratitude, or happiness! I think you got more down than any other list so far; I’m super impressed! What a lovely year you’ve had, and so many happy moments. I love your photos too! Thank you SO much for taking the time to participate in this festival of good stuff; it is much appreciated! Wishing you a merry Christmas!

Leave a Comment

