Weekend Coffee Share: New year, new things

Weekend Coffee Share is a feature hosted by Part-Time Monster. You can read the other posts in the link-up here.

It feels like half of January has zipped away, but also that New Year was an age ago.

If we were having coffee, I’d say that the first week back at work was potentially the longest week I have ever lived. This week has also been a strange one, with the loss of some true icons. For me, I really feel any losses from the Harry Potter family, but I am not very good at expressing these things, so you should read Wendi’s wonderful tribute to him here. RIP Alan Rickman.

In other news, work has been really busy, but so has everything else, and I’m off to a good start with my goals. I want to visit fifty new places this year – whether that’s new cities, tourist attractions or bars and restaurants – and I’ve notched up eight so far. (Perhaps I need to stop including bars and restaurants…)

Two were new theatres: the Old Vic, where I saw The Lorax, which also counts towards goal 5 – a show I’ve never seen before. I love the book, and this was a brilliant adaptation of it. I also went to the Orchard Theatre in Dartford to see Cirque Berserk. I think that can count towards ‘Do something different’, as I’ve never been to a circus before. I know there are too many animal cruelty stories when it comes to the circus, so I made sure there weren’t any animals in this one. Instead, there was a lot of crazy acrobatics, contortion, knife-throwing, and even motorbikes on stage. You’re allowed to film and take pictures during the show, but I’m too tired to work out how to embed a video, so you can see the motorbikes here on Twitter!

Speaking of doing something different, yesterday I spent a lovely afternoon in a bar on a boat, because why not? The Tattershall Castle is moored opposite the London Eye, and it is a brilliant, slightly unusual place for a drink. Then today I did some epic DIY in the form of putting together a double bed. (Well, I helped at least.) It means I have inherited a new-to-me bed with an actual headboard, so I’m a little bit happier with how my room looks, and it feels a little more mine. Now I just need to do something about the hideous curtains…

For my reading goal, I finished More Than This by Patrick Ness – a slow starter, but actually a brilliant idea. I’m now indulging in a little YA in the form of the Infernal Devices trilogy. I thought I’d like to finish these and the Mortal Instruments before watching Shadowhunters on Netflix, but I’m too tempted to watch the first episode tonight, so that’s not going to happen!

Last, but certainly not least, I have booked a second holiday for 2016 in the form of a long weekend in Dublin! I’m really excited, and it’s so nice to have something to look forward to on these dreary January days!

Although, that’s actually a little unfair, because we’ve been treated to cold, sunny days this week – my favourite kind – so I have two photos of the week: one capturing the sunrise on St Paul’s, the other the sunset behind Big Ben:

St Paul's sunrise

London sunset

And today, we were treated to a little snow! About as much of a dusting as the icing on a Victoria sponge, but hey! It means the trains shouldn’t be messed up tomorrow. Right?!

Hope you’re all having a good 2016 so far!

6 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: New year, new things

  1. Diana says:

    Oh, I loved the Old Vic! I spent a summer in London several years ago, and I stayed at King’s College, which is just down the street. That’s such a lovely area of the city.

    So sad to hear of Alan Rickman’s death and of David Bowie’s as well. Such masterful artists.

  2. bettylouise31 says:

    Seeing and trying new thing this year is great goal. It sounds like you are off to a good start. The celebrities didn’t bother me so much as I didn’t really know them. Enjoy you week your weekend in Dublin and be safe.

  3. thisthatandtheotherthang says:

    Can you believe January is almost half-way over already? 2016 is just flying by so far! Thanks so much for the link, hon. I still find it hard to believe that the late and great Alan Rickman is gone. Such a brilliant actor and incredible human being. On a happier note, a bar…on a boat? That is something that I must see at some point! How fun and unique is that?! I am always so jealous of all of your travels–I hope it’s okay that I’m totally living vicariously through you. Hope you had a wonderful weekend, sweetie! xoxo

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      And now 3/4 over – scary! And thank you for writing such a lovely post for me to link to.

      That is one of my favourite new bars, definitely! And that is totally OK, ha ha. I will need to make sure I come up with plenty more fun things! Hope you’re having a great week xxx

Leave a Comment

