January Round-Up

Well, I don’t know about you, but it feels like New Year was just last week and yet one twelfth of 2016 is over already! I will have to readjust how long I think days and weeks are to stop being shocked by how quickly time passes. A day? That’s like an hour when I was ten years old. And a month feels just about as long as a week probably should.

However, there have been lots of happy things this month, which I’ve been adding to my happiness jar (goal 16).

Adding to happiness jar

I’ve been a general assistant at work for a year now, but this week it was decided that in March I will have a little increased responsibility: two of my own territories to sell to, which I am really excited about. I will even have my first book fair meetings in April!

I achieved one of my goals in full already: 5. See three new shows. I should have known this was setting the bar too low, so I’m increasing it to ‘See ten new shows’. I saw The Lorax, Close to You (closing soon – if you like Burt Bacharach’s music, get along and see it) and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (completely exceeded my expectations, and was a really fun show).

As well as shows, I’ve added new restaurants to my list, including Fire and Stone, where they do really unusual pizzas. I ordered the ‘London’ – sausage, bacon, roast potatoes and tomatoes (I asked for it without mushrooms, of course). It was great!

London pizza, Fire and Stone

Yesterday I went for a ‘bottomless Bellini brunch’ at Hush. It’s a two-hour turnaround time, so I think we got our money’s worth in five Bellinis and three courses! I will post more photos of this soon.

Despite going out a fair amount, I’ve been trying to make my money go further (goal 12) by looking out for cheap show tickets and offers. Lastminute.com is now one of my favourite sites!

I also got a special delivery on Friday, because I was lucky enough to win a Chi Chi London dress. I am in love:

Chi Chi dress 2

You can see the detail more clearly without the flash.

Chi Chi London dress 2

But with the flash on, you can see it’s a bit sparkly!

It makes me feel like a Disney princess, and I can’t wait to wear it to my friend’s wedding in May.

Lastly, my photographs of the week for the last two weeks of January: for week three, I spent two whole days in bed, so I might cheat a little and pick two from last week:

Fire and Stone

Fire and Stone, to remind me of a lovely date night.

IMG_20160130_164655

Can it be? Why yes it is: yet another shot of St Paul’s, this time from the rooftop at Madison, to remind me of a brilliant day out with friends.

All in all, not bad for a January! Hope you’ve had a great start to 2016.

9 thoughts on “January Round-Up

Leave a Comment

