Two Days in Dublin

I cannot believe it has already been a month since I went to Dublin! Less surprisingly, I still haven’t written it up, but now that I’m trying to adjust the life balance I hope to have more evenings in, like this one, to keep the blog up to date!

We left after work on the Thursday evening and arrived at the hotel just after ten o’clock – five hours isn’t bad to get from the office to a whole other country! We took the Aircoach from the airport because it was right outside when we arrived, and at that time of night we didn’t want to wander around looking for the ordinary buses (although they would be around €2 compared to €7, in case you’re visiting and want the option).

The hotel was the four-star Harrington Hall, and I wondered how we could get it so cheap until we got to the correct street – it is a noisy place! There were a few bars and clubs right by the hotel, but when we were actually inside it really wasn’t too loud at all. There was a waiting area that looked like an old-fashioned living room, the floorboards were creaky, and even the furniture in the room had an old-fashioned feel. It was very clean though, and the bathroom was modern, so I thought it was all adorable.

On Friday, we went to Dublin zoo. It was a lovely way to spend a few hours, and we were lucky that the rain that was forecast never really arrived. Here are a few of my favourite photos from the zoo, featuring a meerkat cuddle and a giraffe couple:

Afterwards, we went to Kilmainham Gaol. This was a good, last-minute addition to the itinerary, because neither of us knew all the details of the Easter Rising, but we accidentally visited 100 years later (almost to the day). I think visiting somewhere historical is always a good thing on a city break, but this is one of those cities in particular.

Kilmainham Gaol

In the evening, we went to see Postmodern Jukebox at Vicar Street. This was actually the initial purpose of the trip: my disorganisation meant that I hadn’t listened to this band recommended to me before their London shows sold out. I had a little look through their other tour dates, coordinated our days off, and Dublin it was! They are a band that do swing/jazz covers of modern pop songs, and it was absolutely brilliant. My photos from the concert aren’t great, so here’s their video of Stacy’s Mom. (Just imagine this live!)

On the Saturday, we visited the Guinness Storehouse, which I wrote about here. We then had a wander back along the River Liffey towards Trinity College. One of the things that sticks in my head about Dublin (possibly due to reading a lot of Cecelia Ahern) is that it is home to the Book of Kells. I have to admit that I didn’t actually know what this was (it’s a really old book, in essence) and it was gorgeously, intricately decorated, but I wouldn’t say this was a must-see if you’re pushed for time. However, you exit the exhibition through the Long Room in the Old Library, and I think this was worth the entrance fee! It was one of the most beautiful book places I’ve ever seen. (It is also home to the Brian Boru harp that became the Guinness symbol.)

On Saturday afternoon, because I am an excellent girlfriend, I consented to watch the England/Ireland rugby match. (It’s not so bad really.) We found the original Porterhouse (we love the London one) and managed to get seats right in front of the screen. When the match was over, I got my way for dinner when I spotted a familiar Hard Rock Café sign in the distance.

It was an absolutely lovely weekend, and I feel like we really managed to make the most out of the couple of days we had there. I think Dublin is well worth a visit – if you’re thinking of a city break sometime soon, I would highly recommend it!

3 thoughts on “Two Days in Dublin

Leave a Comment

