Cabana Islington and the best sparkling wine in the southern hemisphere

I was recently invited to a blogger/press night for Cabana in Islington. Cabana is a Brazilian barbecue restaurant, with branches across London and England more generally – in fact, I’ll be writing about my night at the Brixton branch soon.

Cabana Islington

I loved the lighting, and the booths covered in jeans!

Cabana Islington 2

The evening was based around a wine tasting with representatives from Brazilian wine group Miolo. The wine tasting was led by Júlio César Kunz, who talked us through the different wines and the various processes for making them.

Cabana wine tasting

We started with a glass of sparkling wine, which was lovely, as sparkling wine is always my favourite. (I’m just a big kid, really – ooh, it’s fizzy!) We then tried a second, which was no less than the best sparkling wine in the southern hemisphere. Oh yes, in a recent competition, the Millésime was judged the best in its category. And it was, unsurprisingly, gorgeous.

Millesime

We also tried their Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Merlot/Cabernet Sauvignon. The white was really unusual. It tasted almost like a red wine to me, because of the oaky flavour to it. And I never really choose to drink red wine myself, but the latter was very light – in body, not in colour. However, I’m not going to pretend I know anything more than this!

To accompany the wine tasting, we got to sample Cabana’s menu: cheesy dough balls and cheese to dip in honey for starters; a huge platter of the different kinds of chicken and steak they have on offer; and Nutella doughnuts and cheesecake for dessert. I’m a dessert person, so obviously this was an excellent course, but their spicy chicken was also really good. We were assured we would not leave the restaurant hungry, and we certainly didn’t!

Cabana meat platter

However, it was on my second visit to Cabana that my eyes really were too big for my stomach – this post to follow soon…!

Thank you very much to Júlio César Kunz from Miolo, Marianne Fillion from Bibendum, Cabana Islington and the team at PR&EI for the invite to a lovely evening.

3 thoughts on “Cabana Islington and the best sparkling wine in the southern hemisphere

Leave a Comment

