Ten Bookish Facts About Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Ten Bookish Facts About Me

1. I am currently reading The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas. I can’t believe I only discovered the Throne of Glass series in May (I love it), although I usually am late to the party when it comes to series – I didn’t discover Harry Potter until four books had been published either.

2. The final Harry Potter book was spoiled for me. The day Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was released was the day of the Next sale, where I worked (and hated every second). Sale day was the worst day of the whole year, and if it had been my 27-year-old self making the decision rather than my 17-year-old self, I would have called in sick and read Harry Potter instead. I read as much as I could between midnight and 4.30 a.m., when I started, but sadly it wasn’t enough time to finish it. On my first break, someone in the staff room loudly described the contents of the epilogue. They probably don’t realise that I have never forgiven them for this, and I very much hope that they watch Game of Thrones and every single episode has been spoiled for them. (Because I’m not bitter at all.)

3. Speaking (still) of Harry Potter, I have three copies of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. (Excuse book five in the middle there.) Some people can’t resist gorgeous shoes or jewellery, but for me it’s books. I have two special editions of the first book, which I never plan to read – I just couldn’t resist.

4. And speaking of special editions, I bought a spineless copy of A Tale for the Time Being, which I went so far as to take the cellophane off before I realised I should have left it wrapped up and safe because I am too nervous to damage it by reading it either. For some people reading is all about the story, but I love the object of the book as well.

DSCF6786

5. I own more books than any other object. (This will be true for most book lovers, of course.) I can’t say I’ve ever counted them, but I maybe have around 500. Although I reckon it’s more, considering I have accumulated at least 80 in the 21 months I’ve been in this flat… (Many were freebies as many of my friends and I work in publishing, or I’d be bankrupt.)

6. Some people have bookshelves arranged alphabetically; some have shelves arranged by colour… I do not organise my books at all.

DSC02556cropped

So that my mum doesn’t have a heart attack that I’ve posted this picture, I should make it clear that she has rearranged this since I moved out.

7. I used to write my own books when I was a kid. My protagonists were twins named Amy and Alistair, and most of my writing was heavily influenced by the Sweet Valley Twins series. (Bonus fact: I believe I have read every Sweet Valley Twins/High/Junior Year/University book that was ever published, and that is a LOT of books.)

8. I still haven’t read some of the most famous novels ever written: Catcher in the Rye (I’ve started it…), Catch-22, Ulysses, War and Peace, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Frankenstein, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Rebecca… so many books, so little time!

9. I love hardbacks. If there is a choice between a hardback and paperback edition, I’ll probably choose the hardback. Although I did buy one book this year that is so massive and so heavy that I can’t take it with me each day, so I still haven’t finished it.

10. I have been lucky enough to have met lots of amazing authors, between signings and book launches and events like the Edinburgh Festival: Matt Haig, Lauren Oliver, John Green, Patrick Ness, Cassandra Clare, Christopher Brookmyre, Andrew Nicoll and even Mark Webber (bringing together two of my passions)! However, I still haven’t met the one who would make me more star-struck than anybody – J. K. Rowling, of course!

11 thoughts on “Ten Bookish Facts About Me

  1. shelfiepodcast says:

    I don’t really organize my books either! I try to group them be genre sometimes or shelves for hardback and shelves for paper back, but in the end it’s just one big mess! 😛

Leave a Comment

