Ten things books have made me want to do or learn about after reading them

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Ten things books have made me want to do or learn about after reading them

  1. Magic. I started reading the Harry Potter books when I was eleven, and I secretly hoped I’d get a letter from Hogwarts that year. Realistically I was a little too old to truly dream of an owl turning up, but wouldn’t that have been the best day?! Reading fantasy novels, I get jealous of characters’ supernatural abilities, including mind-reading and teleportation (lazy-girl magic).
  1. Get fit. This sounds like the more realistic of the options so far, but I probably have more chance of pulling a rabbit out of a hat than ever being as strong as Tris from Divergent or Celaena from the Throne of Glass series. I know some people hate the word ‘strong’ to describe female characters as there is the idea that this is metaphorical. With these two, they can run miles, scale buildings, and just generally kick ass. When I say I admire their strength, I mean it literally!
  1. Have an adventure. I read all the Famous Five books when I was younger, and I lived vicariously through them. Why wasn’t I out unearthing mysteries and saving the day?
  1. Get a dog. Whether it was Timmy, or any of the hundred and one Dalmatians (I read the books as well as adoring the Disney films), I always wanted a dog.
  1. Mythology. When studying literature there are so often references to Greek and Roman mythology, and I always wished I knew more to understand them. A couple of years ago this was one of my goals. I borrowed a Greek Myths children’s book from the library, read it, but didn’t manage to commit massive amounts to memory. I’ll try again soon!
  1. Go to an American high school. Now I realise that my school experience was far less stressful than those I saw on TV or read about in books, in a good way. However, when I was ten, the life of the Sweet Valley twins seemed so unbelievably glamorous that I wished I went to a school like theirs. (Of course, I know their lives probably aren’t like most people’s either.)
  1. Collect stories. Readers love stories, of course, but this time I’m talking about true ones. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry had an overarching plot that I really enjoyed: he decides to walk from one side of England to the other, in order to deliver a letter to an old friend as a sort of penance. However, some of my favourite bits were all the mini stories within it; the little glimpses into the lives of those Harold meets along the way. Sometimes I’ll see someone on the train and wonder what their story is.
  1. Go to space. After reading The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, it makes me wonder if we’ll be out travelling the universe in 500 years – holiday homes on Jupiter… commuting from the moon, because who can afford to live in London anymore?!
  1. Travel the world. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants springs to mind, with Bridget going to football camp in Mexico and Lena visiting family in Greece (Santorini is still high on my list). It culminates in a road trip across the United States that made me want to do this. It also made me want to…
  1. Spend quality time with my friends. Reading might seem like an antisocial activity, but some books leave you with that warm, fuzzy feeling that just makes you want to call your family/friends/significant other to check in.
15 thoughts on “Ten things books have made me want to do or learn about after reading them

  1. Collecting stories sounds super awesome! I love it. I think I have lots of them now as is having worked as a 911 operator! I have a couple of these on mine as well, love the get fit yes I added it into learn to fight lol and Disney does have the best animal friends 😉 My Top Ten

Leave a Comment

