Ten books I would buy this second if someone handed me a fully loaded gift card

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

After a rather expensive weekend, the idea of someone handing me a gift card with a ton of money on it is lovely! These are ten of the books that I would buy right away.

Assassin's Apprentice 20th anniversary edition

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb (HarperCollins)

I spotted this 20th anniversary edition of Assassin’s Apprentice on Waterstones a while ago, and it was the first thing I added to my wish list. I adored this trilogy, so such a stunning edition of the first book would be an incredible addition to my bookshelves. (Even if I never actually read this edition, look how gorgeous it is!) Many of you will know I’m also a sucker for a signed copy, so that’s an added bonus with this already beautiful book. (I would buy all the Robin Hobb books if this was the most generous gift card ever.)

Yet another Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling (Bloomsbury)

Speaking of fancy books, two of the most expensive I have ever bought were gift editions of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. (‘Gift’ editions – gifts for myself, that is.) It would be tempting to add a clothbound or in-a-slipcase Deathly Hallows to my collection of special edition Harry Potters.

Winnie the Pooh gift edition

Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne (Egmont)

And one more gift edition! My favourite bear.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I loved the Throne of Glass series, and would like to read this one, but I can’t spend any more on books for a few weeks! (She says now.)

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Lauren Oliver is one of my favourite authors, so if she has a new book out I need to read it. (Except Rooms – I was too scared to read that.)

One by Sarah Crossan

The format (a series of poems) and the subject (conjoined twins) are interesting and unusual, plus it won the Carnegie Medal, so I’d like to try it.

The Place That Didn’t Exist by Mark Watson

It’s been mentioned on Twitter a fair few times, and that is where I get the majority of my book recommendations.

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber

­I’m not sure if this might be too literary for my tastes, but I like science fiction and this sounds good!

We Were Liars by E Lockhart

This makes me think of Pretty Little Liars, my new Netflix favourite.

After You by Jojo Moyes

I have been meaning to pick this up for ten months now, so maybe this way I would finally get around to it!

5 thoughts on “Ten books I would buy this second if someone handed me a fully loaded gift card

Leave a Comment

