Moving Forward

Weekend Coffee Share is a feature hosted by Part-Time Monster. You can read the other posts in the link-up here

If we were having coffee this week, I’d have some exciting news: in less than three weeks, I’ll be moving in with my boyfriend.

It has all happened so quickly. The idea had been floated in the past, but we only looked at flats together on Tuesday, viewed one that had caught our eye on Thursday, then phoned the letting agent on Friday to go ahead.

It might sound sudden, because objectively I haven’t even known him for a year! It doesn’t feel weird though. This is the way things were going, so we might as well try living together now and if it doesn’t work, it doesn’t work. We could have waited another six months so people don’t think we’re crazy, but have the same result either way. I’ve never been one to waste time…!

What does feel a little strange is that this is the first time I’ve moved without there being some kind of necessity to do so. In the past, I’ve had to move because I’ve been going to France or Spain, or leaving France or Spain, or going home after I finished my post-grad because I wanted to save to move to London. Moving forward in the past has always been a question of geography.

This is the first time I’ve jumped before I’ve been pushed when it comes to accommodation. Things are pretty great, so I wasn’t sure whether to risk upsetting the balance by changing anything. And this has less to do with my relationship than my current living situation: one of my housemates is one of my best friends, and I’m going to miss her so much. It’s like that moment in Friends when Monica tells Rachel, ‘And I have to live with a boy!’ My new flat is only ten minutes away from my current one, so I am hoping we can have as many lazy Sundays as we do now, with Netflix binges and Sunday roasts – it just means I might have to try making one, rather than always sharing hers! It won’t be quite the same, but I don’t want it to change too much.

Of course, I also don’t want to stay still out of fear of things changing, because they often do that anyway. There’s a decent chance my landlord is going to sell up soon, so at least I’m in control of this move – there’s no option to go home between flats this time. Therefore I am focusing on the excitement of having a spotless bathroom, being able to cook more as I won’t be fighting three lots of dirty dishes, and not having to share a room with mould. (Please, no.) And the obvious: taking a massive step in my relationship. Plus, if your boyfriend works shifts, this is one sure-fire way to get to spend more time together!

So if we were having coffee, apart from this news, I don’t have too much to tell you. I’ve spent this weekend doing Zumba, reading in the garden (If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo – highly recommended), watching Pretty Little Liars with my housemate (also highly recommended) and I have added the new pastime of scrolling through the IKEA website to my schedule.

Hope you’ve all had a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward

Leave a Comment

