Ten Books I Read Because of Twitter

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

My top place for book recommendations is Twitter; I have discovered some of my favourite books through the tweets of other book bloggers, readers, authors, agents and publishers. Working in publishing, I have a slightly better idea of upcoming or current titles than I used to, but when deciding what I would actually like to read it is the number of mentions on Twitter that tends to influence what I choose.

thehumans

  1. The Humans by Matt Haig

I adore this book. I list it in almost every Top Ten Tuesday I write. It is hilarious and full of heart, and I raced to buy it when I read the quotations Canongate was tweeting!

haroldglasses

  1. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

You could almost ditto what I just wrote, except it was a blog post by Joanna Cannon that mentioned the book that led me to read it.

  1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I was living abroad when Twitter went crazy for this book – so much so that I asked my mum to bring a copy with her when she visited me, so I could see what all the fuss was about. There are some beautiful quotes in this novel.

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I saw the Twitter hype for almost every book in this series, but never thought much of it because the covers made it look too young. (I generally hate illustrations or photos of people facing outwards on front covers.) Nevertheless, it stayed in my mind, and when I was stuck for something to read, I thought a little YA fantasy never goes amiss. And it’s one of the best series I’ve ever read!

Robin Hobb books

  1. The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

My auntie had been recommending these books for the longest time, but it was during a Twitter chat when I realised that Robin Hobb was a female author, not a male protagonist! Of course, the main character of this book and the subsequent trilogy is a boy, but nevertheless this realisation increased my interest and I finally picked up one of these fantastic books. I should have listened to my auntie years ago!

The Rest of Us Just Live Here

  1. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I followed Patrick Ness on Twitter long before I’d ever read one of his books, but when I saw he was doing an event for this at Waterstones Piccadilly I went along – can’t resist a signed book! – and read this not long after. Which led to me reading More Than This, and wanting to read his other books too.

  1. Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Holly Bourne is so popular on Twitter that I’d seen talk about The Manifesto on How to Be Interesting a couple of years ago, but only picked up one of her titles this year. (Well, three now!) Am I Normal Yet? was mentioned in a few Twitter chats because of it dealing with mental health issues, specifically OCD, and I thought this would be the one to try. I’ve now read the whole Spinster Club trilogy because these girls are witty and wonderful and remind me of my friends.

  1. A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

I think it was a LoveReading tweet where I first heard about this title, and knew immediately I wanted to read it. ‘Old man protagonist? I will probably like this.’ And I did!

  1. Goodhouse by Peyton Marshall

I won this in a Twitter competition and was very pleased – I love dystopian novels. Goodhouse is set in a near future where people are genetically profiled in an attempt to prevent crime before it occurs. The protagonist is one of many young men sent to prison-like schools without having done anything wrong. Definitely worth a read!

DSC00437cropped

  1. A Hundred Pieces of Me by Lucy Dillon

I also won this book on Twitter, and couldn’t wait to read it because of the suggestion that, following a heartbreak, the character was going to pick one hundred of her possessions to keep and get rid of everything else. This concept sort of falls away, but it was a lovely book. (I reviewed it here.)

19 thoughts on “Ten Books I Read Because of Twitter

  1. Danielle Eskdale says:

    This is such a cool idea for a post and I was so shocked to see you mention The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry!!! Everyone I’ve mentioned it to has never heard of it! I read it earlier this year because I’m actually from Berwick Upon Tweed (the place Harold walked to) and I couldn’t put it down! I also read the 2nd book The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy which was just as great!

    xo

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      I adore that book. The idea immediately sounded great, but it was all the little stories within it and how it captured so many elements of the human experience that made it one of my absolute favourites. The second I wasn’t as keen on until that absolutely heartbreaking ending! Although it also had such beautiful sections of writing.

  2. Diana says:

    Your post makes me want to get more active on twitter.I haven’t really been interacting as much on there.Glad to see that you found some gems through the site.I liked TFIOS.I hope to read Ove soon.It seems quite popular

Leave a Comment

